Thetford Center Crime

Thetford Center Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Thetford Center, VT or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Thetford Center Law

Is there a statute of limitations on a dui charge which happened over 20 yrs ago.should all the charges be tropped,
have to take crash course again if there not. took a course in mass. when i was living there. but Vt did not except course. been living in Vt over 25 yrs now. need to drive again for my job
The answer will depend on whether you were ever charged and just haven't dealt with the ticket or you were never...
What trouble am i in if my unlicensed boyfriend drives my car drunk and has an accident
My boyfriend lives with me and has no license because of 2 duis (i didn't know this for quite awhile as his old job supplied a work truck ) We live in a rural area and in order to work driving is a must.As he had stopped drinking he was using our truck that is in my name as is the insurance. Lately i strongly suspect he is drinking again and driving . What kind of trouble am in if he has an accident and hurts someone? I own my home and another property and am afraid of losing everything I have worked so hard to get.
First of all, he should not be on the road. He is a danger to others which is why they took away his license. Its not...
Will someone with his 6th DUI, out on probation for DUI#5, get prison time in Vermont?
My ex just got DUI #6 in Vermont. He just got DUI #5 in VT on June 26, 2015, so about 6 months ago. This is his 3rd DUI in VT. He has one in PA and two in FLorida. In Florida, his license was permanently revoked for DUI#4. He is currently on probation from DUI#5 and has violated 3 times by drinking, driving w/ no license, harassing others, violating curfew, missing visit to probation, etc. He was put on Strict community supervision Nov. 1, 2015 and given curfew, no alcohol, treatment, etc. He also is a convicted felon in FL with domestic violence/aggravated assault w/ a firearm and battery on a person over 65 charges which he did prison time for. He has a history of violating probation and/or house arrest more than a dozen times in FL on top of his VT violations. He also has 2 other domestic violence convictions in FL. Given his extensive criminal history, his inability to stay sober or follow conditions of release, do you feel he will be charged as a habitual offender and be given real prison time? He is currently in VT prison waiting until the end of Feb. for his VOPhearing. He has a $50,000 bond. His probation officer plans to use EVERYTHING against him.
Possibly. Your ex needs to speak with his public defender.
Is it possible that with this man's extensive criminal history that he will only get 18 months outpatient for DUI 6?
My ex got DUI#6 while on probation for DUI which he got just 7 months ago. He was on strict court supervision with a curfew, no alcohol consumption allowed, no driving as his license is permanently revoked in the State of Florida (after his 4th DUI). Therefore, he cannot get a license in VT. This man also has a history as a convicted felon in Florida for Aggravated Assault with a firearm and battery on a person aged 65 an older. He did a year and a half in Florida prison for those charges. He has DUI#3 and DUI #4 convictions in Florida. He also has been convicted of domestic violence battery two other times in FL. He has a history of multiple violations of probation and house arrest in both Florida and Vermont. He has violated his probation at least 3 times for DUI #5 in Windsor County Vermont since July of 2015. This recent violation is DUI #6. So not only was he drunk, he admitted he was on the arrest Affidavit, he was violating curfew (terms of his probation), drinking (violating probation), driving, (violating probation) and committing a felony offense (DUI#6). His public defender is now trying to make a plea deal where he gets 18 months outpatient and no jail.
If he gets 18 months outpatient and no jail his PD has done a good job. 6 DUI convictions mean this person has a...
I had a fine from a dui in Vermont. It was sent to a collection agency. Do I need to pay the collections before I get license?
It was a $300.00 fine and was sent to collections over 8 month's ago
Generally speaking most states will put a hold on your license until fines are paid off. Call your DMV to see if this...
My boyfriend is on probation for dwi, he got arrested on a warrant for domestic assault. How can he get out of jail?
My boyfriend is on probation for dwi and he got arrested on a warrant for domestic assault, he willingly turned himself in to his po. He was arraigned and bail was set and he had conditions he report to his po as soon as he's bailed out and that he have no contact with the victim. But when I went to bail him out they said he couldn't be bailed out cuz he violated his probation. I'm very confused and don't understand why the judge set bail and gave him conditions of release if he can't be bailed out??
Because no one has set the bail amount on the violation as of yet. He should speak to his counsel.
Visiting VT from CA with a Non-Updated DUI License
I am visiting some family in Vermont. The story is I got a DUI a year ago. Completed all court and DMV requirements to be reinstated. When it came time to remove the interlock, I went to the DMV to update my license. Well they botched it and sent me the restricted license. The CA DMV appointments are so backed up, I am months away from changing this, but was informed by the DMV that it is not a problem because my updated status is in the National Registry. In fact I've been pulled over once in CA during this period and the officer confirmed I am okay to drive. Now my question is, can I drive in Vermont? Do officers have access to the national registry?
I am not licensed to practice in Vermont, so out of respect for any local experienced attorney from Vermont, refer to...