Sundown Crime

Sundown Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Sundown, TX or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Sundown Law

Please help me! I have a question regarding Ignition Interlock devices in North Carolina.
I was convicted of DWI while in the Marine Corps in North Carolina. The court ordered me to have an ignition interlock device installed in my vehicle. When I got out of the Marine Corps I moved to Texas to go to school and be near my family. My license has expired (Mississippi License) and they will not let me renew it until I have satisfied all of North Carolina's requirements. North Carolina tells me that I can only have my interlock device calibrated in NC which has to happen every two months. That is over a 1500 mile drive for me and is just not possible. I work 40 hours a week and am a full time student. Is there anything that I can do to renew my license or get a license in another state. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time. Please help me.
I will assume you are not on probation since you moved from North Carolina to Texas. The ignition interlock requirement...
My question is about the new or should i say old ruleing handed down by the scotus in 1966 SCR Schurber v. california
They ruled a persons blood protected by their fourth amend ent right .as we know that was choosen to be ignored for 47 years .Now once again they have ruled it in affect and it has been since 1966 so if someone is faceing dwi charges has not been to court are they protected under this new/old law? my husband is faceing very serious charges dwi only but because he has 6 went to prison on his 1st long story its very important i know anyway to keep these out
With your husband in this serious of a situation, my advice is to speak with a local attorney admitted in TX and...
Can i get my CDL?
I went to court for my dwi charge and iam already doing my community service and taking my classes in august. If i complete all that i need too the dwi wont go on my record it will be deferred... just wondering if i could get my cdl Now?? My drivers license isnt suspened and i dont have anything pending
You can't get your CDL for two years after a DWI conviction. Sincerely, Erick Platten
In Texas if you are not caught behind the wheel of a car can you be charged with a DWI?
Okay, so if your car was in a ditch and you were standing 20 feet away from it and the cops come answering a call saying there is a suspicious car in the ditch, even if they didn't see you driving and you aren't even in the car when the cops get there can you be charged with a DWI?
You can be charged with it and arrested by the police, but they would be hard pressed to prove it without more evidence....
DUI: Surcharge
In mid-2012, I received a conviction for DUI. My license, as per the court, was suspended for 1 year. DPS never received notice of the conviction, and my license never showed up as suspended. Three years later now, I am wondering about the surcharge which also wasn't assessed. The Texas statute says: Sec. 708.102(b) Each year the department shall assess a surcharge on the license of each person who during the preceding 36-month period has been finally convicted of an offense relating to the operating of a motor vehicle while intoxicated. Sec. 708.102(d)A surcharge under this section for the same conviction may not be assessed in more than three years. Will the surcharge automatically expire this year, so that it can never be assessed as it passed out of the three year time frame?
Check your license and all the applicable surcharges and other actions on DPS website. It will tell you what is...
Can a felony DWI the elgible for a 1244 a?
we live in Texas and he is already been sentenced to 4 years at TDC. he has made trustee in the county that he is at right now. this is 3rd or more DWI
No because 1244a only applies to state jail felonies and a felony DWI is at least a third degree felony
How long does it take to go to court for 3rd DWI?
My fiancé got arrested for his 3rd DWI recently and I was just wondering how long it will be before he goes to court. We are supposed to get married in October.
The only way to know for sure is to consult with an attorney who does DUI defense in the area. sometimes these cases...