Smithfield Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Smithfield, RI or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Smithfield Law

"Abort tamper" on ignition interlock device for no reason, in Rhode Island.
Hi, i have an ignition interlock device from the company smart start and I was going to leave work yesterday and I blew into the device and got a reading that said "abort tamper " . I did not try to tamper with the device in any way and to be honest I am very nervous about this situation. About a minute later I blew into the device and it worked properly and let me start the truck. As soon as i got home, i took a video of myself blowing into the device with a time stamp on it to prove I have not been drinking and that i think the device had a glitch and to show the device was not tampered with. I called smart start and they said that it didn't mean that I was tampering with the device they said that It meant that my hand might have been been blocking the vent in the back of the device. What can I expect to happen? I would not want to be charged with something that I did not do because the device is not working properly. Should I hire an attorney? Will I be arrested? I'm really getting tired of this device not working properly , it's very critical that this device works and I'm afraid of loosing my freedom or licence because of faulty equipment. I had smart start make a note.
Unfortunately, we have received many complaints of a similar nature. Always have a witness if possible to document...
Ignition interlock violation question.
What happeno if you get a violation on an interlock device in Rhode island? Here's what happened, I started my car to go to work and it registered a warn , then 2 minutes later it said to blow again, then I registered a violation, the it counted down 2 minutes and said to blow again and I got a warn then every 2 minutes I had to blow and kept getting warns. I know a warn still allows you to start your car an I think it detects a .002 on your breath. The only thing is I didn't have anything to drink at all. I think my tooth paste set it off or the system was working improperly. I am not on probation or anything but I am required to have this for 18 months for a chemical test refusal. My question is can i be charged criminally for a violation with a dui or something? Even though I was under the legal limit and the car was able to start?also can I loose my licence? And who monitors the device if I am not on probation? Any help would be appreciated.
As of right now u can't be charged criminally. U should definitely have the machine checked by the installer. There is...
Hi...i got into a car accident 10 days ago. They took my blood at the hospital over 3hrs after accident and it was .17
then they discharged me later that morning. I was not cited at the time and the car was not impounded,but the report is not available and now the accident is under investigation. Can they charge me w/dui after 10 days? Will they just come to my house and arrest me? Accident was in RI but i have a MA license but live in RI? Thanks for your help
It will depend upon whether Rhode Island has a 2 hour time limitation for taking blood results that show alcohol...
What can I do in this situation?
My sister paid her past fines and back taxes and even had to retake the driving course test to get her license back, she even paid an SR22, no we are trying to get her a car and when we went to register it, they are saying she is blocked because her license is suspended, but yet it was mailed to her 4 months ago, she really needs this car to get back and forth to work and get her kids to school. What do we do?
I suggest that you go straight to the source, call the good folks at RI-DMV at 401-462-4368 and ask them directly....
DUI -EXpenuged
I read that DUI/ non violent crimes can be expunged. Is this true ?
Yes DUI are expungeable after 5 years from the end of sentence. The fee is 100 dollars and u must b a first time...
How long do I need to get a SR-22 on my license for a refusal?
It's been almost a year since the charge do I still need an SR-22
U need it for three consecutive years without any interruption
Will multiple misdemeanor DUI convictions prevent me from obtaining my real estate license in RI?
I am thinking of pursuing my Real Estate License. I have three misdemeanor DUI convictions (2008, 2012, 2014). I'll save the excuses and just say I've been sober for 2 years and 2 months. Regardless, they are there. None of them are felonies because the first and third weren't within 5 years. I don't want to go through the expense of taking classes, etc. only to find out I won't be eligible because of my past. I do currently hold another professional license to sell property and casualty insurance in RI and in all 50 states plus DC, and have not had any problems, setbacks or disciplinary actions from any of the State Insurance Departments - aside from CA where they required me to write written explanations for each offense for subjective review. Anyway, do any attorneys familiar with Real Estate in RI know if these convictions would prevent me from obtaining this license? Thanks.
http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/divisions/commlicensing/realestate/RE-Broker_Req-App.pdf The application seems to be...