73°F | 48°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Sears, MI or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
(Michigan) Can I ask for the blue book value for restitution if it was totaled after a collision with a drunk driver?
I was hit by a drunk driver, I only had PLPD insurance. I am giving a copy of all the costs I acrewed as a result of the crash such as towing which my insurance did not cover. The vehicle has been estimated and totaled out as the cost to repair the vehicle is past the threshhold of what the vehicle is worth. I have the estimate as well as the kelly blue book value of my vehicle plus the cost of towing. My vehicle is worth between $1,800 and $2,042 and I want to ask for $2,000 to replace the totaled vehicle because that left me and my family without a vehicle plus the $150 towing cost so a total of $2,140. Is that realistic to ask for?
It's a reasonable request. I would keep copies of all receipts and paperwork that you have been given so that you can...
Will I be able to get a OWI high bac dropped down?
I was arrested the other night for OWI high bac in northern Michigan I blew .17 after being pulled over. At the jail the other breath tests I did came error a few times and .17 as well as .16 this is my first offense. I had a MIP when I was 20 and am now 24 almost 25. I am just really worried what will happen I have a good job and don't want to lose it
You need to hire an attorney to negotiate this case. These errors in these tests happen often and I are not necessarily...
Can I reduce the charges of a zero tolerance arrest with a plea bargain?
I was recently arrested for zero tolerance. Can I make a plea bargain? If so, what is my best option? Or should I plead not guilty. I know I made a mistake and want to take responsibility. I just don't want to end up in jail or with a suspended license.
This is hard to do but it can be done.
What does "Under 21 with a B.A.C. of .02-.07" or "Zero Tolerance" mean?
Recently arrested and charged with "Under 21 w/ a b.a.c. of .02-.07". What do these charges mean?
You are a minor who consumed alcohol and is now charged under the zero tolerance statute.
Would Dubble Jepority aplaie to drunk driving?
Getting a drunk driving in one state an paying all your fines there. Come home and loose your license for not paying an reinstatement fee and a fine in anouther state?
Double jeopardy, which bars prosecution for the same crime, does not apply to what you wrote. You are not being re-...
Facing 3rd OWI in Kent County BAC .16 Did 48 Day inpatient Treatment in IOP currently Possible credit for 30 day jail time?.
Probation officer suggested in report for 30 days in jail with 1 day credit, sobriety court, fines and other costs. 5 years of probation. I was in inpatient facility for 48 days and currently in IOP also attending AA with signed documentation. I have been working consistently and hard on my recovery. My first dui was in 1994 my second was in 2004 and now my third in 2015 I definitely have a problem with my drinking. I guess I would like to know if a judge could give me jail credit of the 48 days I spent inpatient medium secured facility?
Not likely. The law requires a minimum 30 day jail sentence IF eligible for probation. 1 to 5 years otherwise, or if...
What happens if my bf is caught driving without a license as his is suspended from previous DUI's?
He wants me to lease a vehicle in my name for him to drive back and forth to work however i am not comfortable with that idea and want to know what could happen to me if he were pulled over/caught driving my vehicle with no license so i can explain to him more thoroughly why i am saying no!
He could be charged with driving while license suspended (DWLS) and you could be charged with allowing an unlicensed...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 39,768 • Total comments across all topics: 260,365,463
Copyright © 2015 Topix LLC