Scottsdale Crime

Scottsdale Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Scottsdale, AZ or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Scottsdale Law

Will I be able to get an IL drivers license if I have a DUI from Arizona?
In mid 2010 I was pulled over and charged with a DUI (first and only) in Scottsdale, AZ. I pleaded guilty (misdemeanor) in Aug. 2011 and satisfied all AZ court requirements (fines, 24 hours in jail, classes, etc.). Additionally, I have satisfied ALL BUT ONE of the AZ D.O.T requirements (interlock device). Reason being, I moved to Chicago, IL in Sept. 2011 (where I have lived for the last 6 years now) and did not physically have a car to attach an interlock device to (I still do not!) I never had a reason to change my ID as my AZ license does not expire until 2048 and there was no reason for me to believe otherwise. Here we are, 6 years later, and I am just finding out I may not be able to get an IL driver's license because my AZ license is still listed as "revoked." Within the past 6 year, I have had ZERO traffic violations and thus, my record is clean and clear. I have been told that the only way for me to get approved by the state of IL is by satisfying the AZ D.O.T. HOWEVER, I physically am unable to due to the fact that I do not own a car! Why am I STILL being reprimanded in my 30's for something that happened in my mid 20's??
You are being "reprimanded" because you did not comply with the Arizona MVD requirements to get your license back....
Can my 18 month ignition interlock sentence for a Super Extreme DUI from ADOT be reduced?
Hello, About a year ago, I received a first time, Super Extreme DUI. No one was hurt and since then I have completed my alcohol and drug education courses (fulfilled 16 requirement, did 30 hours total), have an ignition interlock installed and am approaching having it for 6 months, and have not received a failed test on the interlock. Is there anything that can be done to reduce the 18 month term in which the IID needs to be installed? This sentence is through Arizona Department of Transportation, not the court. Thank you for your help
No. The reduction to 6 months only applies to a regular DUI, not a super extreme DUI. You have to do the 18 months.
Do I have to give my ex a copy of my dui police report and court records?
I recieved a dui with my son in the car about a year ago. I have since served my jail time, completed dui courses , and have been doing well on probation. My ex now is requesting the police report and court records from my arrest. He says he is entitled to them based on ARS. 25-403.06 since my son was in the car. Is this true? I thought that statute pertained to school and medical records? Does it include my personal arrest records? I don't even have copies of these records. I told him all that info is public record and he said if I don't provide what he requests, I will be responsible for the cost for him to obtain them. Do I need to get all this info for him or can he just get it on his own? How much do I have to disclose of the situation since my son was there?
You need to consult with a family law attorney, as this is not really a criminal law questions.
Do I have to provide my ex with my dui arrest records and court documents?
I recieved a dui with my son in the car about a year ago. I have since served my jail time, completed dui courses , and have been doing well on probation. My ex now is requesting the police report and court records from my arrest. He says he is entitled to them based on ARS. 25-403.06 since my son was in the car. Is this true? I thought that statute pertained to school and medical records? Does it include my personal arrest records? I don't even have copies of these records. I told him all that info is public record and he said if I don't provide what he requests, I will be responsible for the cost for him to obtain them. Do I need to get all this info for him or can he just get it on his own? How much do I have to disclose of the situation since my son was there?
The statute, which I copied below, does include court and police records. The statute says that the other parent can...
What kind of interlock exemptions does the DMV have for poor or siabled people? ?
I have a very low income of $720.00 month disability and I cannot afford an interlock: but need to drive to a variety of medical and college needs,Does Arizona Motor Vrhicle Divison have interlock exemptions for anyone?
No, they do not have any exemptions.
Can a US citizen travel to Spain and Portugal with a misdemeanor DUI conviction?
My travel companion has a misdemeanor DUI conviction....can he travel to Spain and Portugal? Not renting a car. Thank you!
Has your companion resolved the misdemeanor judgement in full? If any warrants or other restrictions of judgement are...
Will I have to go to jail if I got charged with Driving Under Restraint in Colorado while on vacation and if so, for how long?
I was charged with Driving Under Restraint (driving with a restricted license) while vacationing in Colorado. The officer told me that the reason for my license suspension was because of a DUI. I am originally from Arizona, but I got the driving under restraint charge in Colorado. Will I have to go to jail for 30 days in Colorado? Is there a way to plead to a lesser charge that does not include jail time? Arizona does not give mandatory jail time for a first offense for driving with a suspended license, but Colorado statute says its a mandatory 30 days in jail. Is this true? Can CO sentence me to jail time when I live in AZ?
Yes, Colorado can sentence you to jail time in Colorado, even though you live in Arizona. You need to obtain an...