50°F | 36°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Ruidoso, NM or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Can I sue a DUI drivers insurance company that is holding up full payment for damage?
I had a DWI driver at 2:30 am that damaged my property, and vehicle (no injuries to myself or family). Now his insurance company does not want to pay me the estimate amount I received for the property damage work. Adjuster says that the estimates are too high. I want to tell the adjuster that when the Police knock on your door at 3;00 am, and you have older children, that your mind wonders if they are injured or dead. I do not like to sue, but if the company keeps messing around for $1,500.00 I will have to make them spend a lot more in Court costs. Is this something that can be pursued in the Court?
Absolutely No Point. Contact the DA who is prosecuting the DUI driver and turn your damages over to him. The judge...
Texan charged with DWI while in New Mexico for 3 hours.
Was visiting Ruidoso, went to eat a burger and fries and had 3 beers during the timeframe of 10:00 p.m. and 12:30 a.m. -- got pulled over for going 40 in a 30 (did not know the speed limit this being first time there), officer proceeded to do sobriety tests and blood test charged me. Girlfriend was also in the vehicle -- she ate/drank everything that I did. I am 5'9 and weigh about 205 lbs. She is 5'2 and weighs about 130 lbs. The officer did one test on her and proceeded to allow her to drive in order to follow as he took me to the ER for a blood test and then to the police department. I do not believe that I was intoxicated and moreso, don't understand how he could think that I was, but yet not think she was looking at her weight and size. Seems a little bogus to me.
You are going to need a New Mexico attorney to represent you on the DWI. It is a fact of life that DWIs in today's...
In the state of ILL. is there a statue of limitations on the charge of dui.
I was arrested on dui. in 2001 while visiting the state. I went home (out of state) never to return. I recently tried to get a D.L. in the state of New Mexico.I was given a printout I still had to take care of the problem in ILL.I called the police dept. who made the arrest 12years ago The told me I still had I warrant for failure to appear.How long does this arrest stay on there books. Can I get a D.L. in any other state without going back to ILL.
The statute of limitations has been satisfied because charges were filed. Furthermore the statute of limitations does...
What other steps could I take if I can't afford to pay for my DWI classes I'm Unemployed and trying really hard to get a job.
Charged with DUI child abandonment had my son in car without a car seat the time of my arrest
I would go back to the court where you were convicted and explain to them you situation.
Is it possible to get a drivers license reinstated for a medical revocation?
My father is 95, and had his license revoked by a Dialysis physician, due to Atrial Fibrillation, and unstable blood pressure. He feels he has been wronged and would like to pursue the matter legally. What are his chances?
You can attempt to get him seen by another doctor in hope the diagnosis changes. The fact is that if he is suffering...
Will someone will be charged with aiding and abetting for loaning their car to a driver who requires an interlock device?
A relative from New Mexico is loaning her car to her boyfriend while she is out of state. Her boyfriend is required to have an interlock license, and she knows this. They have stated that the reason they do not have an interlock device is because it is too expensive. He regularly drives after drinking and may not have paid the insurance for the car that he promised to pay. We are concerned that the risk is high and so the goal of this question is to try to learn facts so that we may reason with her. If he is caught driving her vehicle, what is the likelihood that she will be charged with aiding and abetting? Are there any defenses that she would be able to use to avoid a charge of aiding and abetting?
I do not practice in New Mexico and cannot say whether your relative could, or is likely to, be charged with aiding and...
Unable to use ignition interlock in New Mexico due to Emphysema. Calibration at lowest setting. How do I get this waived?
I was charged with 1st DUI...state has law for ignition interlock to be kept in car for 1 year for first offense. Due to my health/COPD I am unable to start my car. Who can I speak with to get this requirement waived. My case is with an attorney and he says he specializes in DUI but does not have an answer for me aside from an enormous addtional fee. The case is being tried in the magistrate court, can this judge waive the interlock? I still have the MVD hearing...can the legal department at the MVD waive this requirement? Please help...I was so very disappointed that the attorney I chose not only could NOT help me with this...he failed to inform me about an appeal that I could have tried prior to all this.
There is no law that allows the judge to waive the interlock requierment. MVD can be asked to drop the revocation,...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 37,875 • Total comments across all topics: 264,438,163
Copyright © 2015 Topix LLC