Riverside Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Riverside, NJ or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Riverside Law

Had a DUI in Pennsylvania in 2010. I was not convicted until April of 2012 - my 1st ever DUI was in NJ in October of 2001.
I just realized that this should have counted as a first since PA has a 10-year look back period and as I understand it they go by the conviction date. So, April 2012 is more than 10 years since my first DUI in 2001. The DUI in Pennsylvania is not on my New Jersey Motor Vehicle Abstract and I was never sanctioned in any way by the NJ Division of Motor Vehicles. So, I never lost my ability to drive or was fined, etc. My NJ Driver's Abstract has 1 DUI on it from October of 2001. I was recently stopped in Oregon and charged with DUI and they have a 15 year look back period. I have not been convicted and have several reasons why I will seek dismissal. Can they try to charge me as a 3rd time offender when this would be a first in New Jersey? I had a medical issue and have been in AA daily for 5 years, 6 months and 20 hours of continuous sobriety. I was withdrawing from benzodiazepines which I have been on for 29 years as I am permanently disabled and since I was travelling, my NJ doctor didn't refill my prescription. I was in a panic with tremors and fear of seizure (seizures are common with immediate cessation of either alcohol or benzodiazepines) and a I had a few beers.
No. In NJ it goes by the date of the offense (or everyone with 8 years would skip out for 2 years before they went to...
Will I be extradited to Oregon form a DUI charge (1st offense ever in OR - I live in New Jersey).
I am an Alcohol & Drug Counselor in New Jersey. Have an old DUI in New Jersey from 2001. I am involved in AA daily and had 5 years, 6 months, 5 -days and 19 hours without a drink. I work in Rehabs, Hospital Detox Centers, Behavioral Health Centers here in NJ - speaking to patients about recovery. I had a serious medication problem while visiting my brother in Oregon and was going through benzodiazepine withdrawal and was concerned about having a seizure. As I teach all of this on a regular basis, I know that the only 2 drugs that can give you seizures upon immediate cessation or a drastic lowering of dose. Well, I made a poor decision - but I was panicking - and I decided that having some beer with my dinner might alleviate my tremors and fear of seizure. I ended up getting stopped for DUI and was given a breathalyzer which showed .16. Don't know how that number came up because I am 6'3" tall and 205 pounds and consumed the beer over 2 hours and was not given the breathalyzer until a couple hours later. I was having severe nausea and acid reflux. I was treated at a local Urgent Care Center in Oregon for severe benzodiazepine withdrawal. Any thoughts? My job and AA are my life.
The medical issue is yours but getting behind the wheel made it the State's problem. Oregon will likely not extradite...
Any idea Wheaties going on? I should not have been charged at the first place since I took all my documents the following day
4/26/2016 at about 3 am got pulled over for unsafe lane change on a one lane street, he asked whatsoever in my bag and I handed him my prescription bottle and explained they are prescribed by doctors, he asked if I have the prescription, I politely responded no pharmacist won't give it back (!), He asked me to get out of the car; I noticed another police car showed up.Then instructed me to do the walk test no problem so far, then the third police car showed up, at this time 2 hours has passed and I am getting nerves, tired, embarrassed by the whole situation Then the 4th car showed up, then I was asked to repeat the same test all over again, I said nothing but got aggravated, and they could see it in my face, I was asked by the 4th officer “ are you nerves? “ No I responded just embarrassed and tired, I have been standing on my legs for more 2 hours 10 weeks later I called to see if I can have my prescription back, they asked about a blue ticket, I said i was never given one. A week later I get a few letters from township / police department to come in and two court dates. Following day I went with all the documents and copies of prescription
First issue is determine is whether there was probable cause to stop you. Being detained at the scene for more than...
If my son's father and I were never married and he has given zero financial support and was convicted of a DUI...
My sons father was convicted of a DUI a little over a year ago. He has his license back but has still not gotten the interlock device installed in his vehicle that was court ordered. He only asks to see our child two times a month at the most. I never say no, but I fear for my child's safety every time he is with his father. I am in the process of filing for custody and child support. Since my child was born his father has given less than five hundred dollars in child support. He was always a pot smoker and cocaine user prior to the birth of our son who is now 2 and a half years old. Will a judge grant me a motion for a hair follicle test in the state of NJ? The father is now dating a married woman who is constantly posting on social media and it seems like my sons father is back into using drugs and is an admitted everyday drinker to this day. My two questions are will a judge drug test him and can I file any paper work to keep my son away from the girl my sons father is dating?
The answers are yes to testing and yes right now to keeping the woman away.
What is the worst case scenario for a 2nd offense in NJ since I imagine the penalties should be congruent to those of 1999?
In 1999 I was charged with a DUI, Wreckless Driving, Careless Driving and Speeding. I just went to court after evading the situation for 17 yrs and it was posponed for discovery...
If you are a second-time offender you face up to 90 days in jail, fines and 2 years loss of license 48 hours IRDC and...
Can I appeal the jail part of the sentencing and have it become house arrest and if so how would I go about doing it?
I Was convicted of a 39:4-50. They sentenced me as a second offender, although this was actually my third offense. My first occurred in 2003, and my second in 2004. The punishment that was 2 year loss of license, fines, 30 days community service, and 10 days in the county jail to be served on weekends from 8-4 Sat & Sun.
You were rightly sentenced with one stepdown to second offense. Your penalties were within the guidelines for the...
Can it be expunged?
I was convicted of DUI over 6 years ago
I assume you were convicted in New Jersey. If so, it cannot be expunged. It is considered a motor vehicle offense and...