37°F | 20°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Richfield, UT or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Richfield People Search
A friend of mine's son was charged with DUI the other night, although his B.A.C. was .05. It is his first offence and I was wondering if you think there is any way to reduce his charge to "under age drinking" because he was much lower than the legal limit of a 21 year old (he is only 16). Other info: We live in UT. He does not drink normally (in fact he is normally the DD for his father). He is 16. This is his first offence. Also... If it must remain a DUI, is there any chance of keeping his license?
Underage drinkers are subject to a lower legal limit if found behind the wheel. Yes, a lawyer may be able to help him...
Can Utah revoke my license and require an interlock device, where i received a dui in Nevada, court did not order interlock .
The nevada municipal court gave me a fine, an alcohol class on line, and 40 hrs, community service in my state of utah. It was not ordered by the judge to have an interlock device installed after i reinstated my utah drivers license. Why can utah mandate this without being court ordered as part of sentencing. That should have been part of sentencing, or at least explained to me in court that this additional penalty may be imposed.
While this question of whether a collateral consequence of a plea needs to be addressed by the court with a defendant...
I was arrested for DUI in 2011. I wasn't treated with respect while in police custody. I refused the chemical test.
A warrant was served on me. I asked to speak to an attorney and several officers attacked me and threw me on the concrete ground. I was denied my request for an attorney and kept in a small cell for several hours being laughed at by a woman officer. I was also denied food and/or drink and wasn't allowed to use the restroom for hours. I also was never read my Miranda rights. I retained an attorney, told him everything ~ Justice was not served. My life is ruined. I need help. This is only the "tip of the iceberg"
So far I am not hearing any facts to suggest a defense to DUI charges.
Do you have to submit to any chemical test if you were open carrying and got suspected for being under the influence?
Is there penalties for refusing a sobriety or chemical test while open carrying in side walk?
Generally speaking, field sobriety tests are voluntary and you don't face penalties for refusing them. I have seen...
The first DUI i got pulled over for i pleaded guilty to an impaired driving charge, while on probation i got pulled over for the second time (stupidity at its finest). my question is that would the first charge be upgraded to a DUI, and the second charge a second DUI, or is it possible for a Defense lawyer to make a deal to allow the first one to be as it is and the second one to be charged as a first DUI conviction, and if it is, would my driver licence suspension be reduced from two years to 120 days ?
The impaired driving conviction could be upgraded as a DUI. It depends on what type of impaired driving you entered a...
I have read the Utah Law regarding Expungment im still confused as to whether ill be eligible or not
My record could be as follows, They all occured on separate occasions 1 Class A : forgery 2 Class B : DUIs 1 Class C : Simple assault. I say could be because i am going to see if Im eligible for a 502 reduction for the Class a , and the second DUI is still pending, would i be eligible for an expungment with the above possible record. And if i am ,how long would i have to wait to be eligible, would it be a standard 4 years for the class B (10 since its a dui) or would it go under the multiple catagory and i would have to wait longer. can i only apply for expungment only once or can i for each case after the waiting time expires, cause i want to get the forgery sealed asap,if i do, can i still get the DUIs expunged after their time period is up
Expungements are very complicated and each case is unique, so you really should just go ahead and retain an attorney...
Can I get charged for driving impaired if there were no alcohol in my blood and I was just sleepy while driving?
Is that even possible? Should I be worried?
If you refused testing you can be charged in some jurisdictions. If you had controlled substances in your system you...
Ads by Glam
Comments made yesterday: 63,537 • Total comments across all topics: 229,336,689
Copyright ©2013 Topix LLC