Pocahontas Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Pocahontas, AR or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Pocahontas Law

Is a dui a felony or criminal charge?
While at work I get a call from my husband stating he is sitting in the back of the cop car for apparently drinking and driving while driving into a ditch. He just went to court and received a 6 month pass... how will this affect that? What can he be facing?
A first, second, or third DWI in Arkansas is punishable by fine and up to 1 year in jail (even on a first offense). On...
What are my rights when my husband comes home drunk?
We have three children at home and he drinks on his way home from work. I lock him out and convince him to leave but I would like to know what my legal rights are. I don't want him in the house with our children. He's usually so drunk he doesn't make sense or know what's going on.
This is an interesting question. If you lock him out and force him to leave, he may eventually end up with a DUI. Is...
Resident of Tennessee, DWI in Arkansas. First DWI
I am a resident of Tennessee. I was pulled over and issued a DWI in Arkansas, first DWI. They took my license and issued me a temporary one ( a piece of paper good for 30 days). My questions are: - Will TN be notified of the DWI? - How do I get my license back and is it also suspended in TN? - I am on probation in TN, I have 45 days left. Probation ends before first Arkansas court date. What can I expect? Violation of probation? Should I inform them since it was in another state or wait it? Also, I have 7 days to request an administrative hearing for license suspension. Not sure whether to mark the box to fully contest it or mark the one for restricted. Again, confused. I'm licensed in TN and this was in Arkansas. I have reached out to a few AR attorneys but have not heard back. Thanks for looking.
1. TN will most likely be notified of the DWI, because interstate compacts mandate notification so that your home state...
Can I have a refusal to submit charge dismissed if the test wasn't requested until 10-12 hours after the accident?
I live in Arkansas where ACA 5-65-206 (a) states "In any criminal prosecution of a person charged with the offense of driving while intoxicated, the amount of alcohol in the defendant's breath or blood at the time or within four (4) hours of the alleged offense,". I was involved in a single vehicle accident where I was injured and immediately taken to the hospital via ambulance. After around 10 to 12 hours of treatment I was released to the custody of the state police who took me to a local jail to conduct a breath test which I refused. I have reviewed the entire written procedure of alcohol testing approved by the state of Arkansas and can find no procedure for discovering the BAC of a defendant 12 hours prior to the test. Could I have the charge dismissed seeing as how the tests were not requested anywhere near the 4 hour limit.
Unfortunately no. That time span might could have been used to fight the results of the test had you taken it (though...
Can I get my DWI and possession of controlled substance expunged from 2012 as well as my DWI in 2014?
I received a DWI and possession of a controlled substance in august of 2012, and another DWI in 2014. Can I get these expunged, and if so, how soon can I get them expunged? The first instance occurred in Springdale, AR and the second in Lowell, AR.
I practice in Maryland, not Arkansas, however, I believe the laws on this issue are similar. Were you convicted of...
Could a DUI be filed if I simply ask a question about hit and run?
A few nights ago I for some dumb reason decided to drink and drive. Don't really remember the drive home except for a small tid bit. My truck has no damage at all, but my anxiety & driving drunk guilt has made me think about hit and runs. If I call and ask the police department and they say there was no accidents reported, could I still get in trouble if they knew the back story?
Not really. The police have to have more evidence than just a confession. At this late date they can't get blood or...
I need help wrongfully convicted with solid proof of my innocence
Was wrongfully convicted of no liability insurance 2nd offense have recording and proof presented in court but was still convicted and sentenced to 5 days in jail and dl suspended for 3 months
You have 30 days from the date of conviction to file a notice of appeal with the district court. If you are beyond that...