Philadelphia Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Philadelphia, MS or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Philadelphia Law

Why wasn't child services called when a drunk father assaulted his 17 year old son resulting in a broken arm ?
Police where called by the hospital and asked the minor if he wanted to press charges. What legal authority would a 17 year old have ? and how long after 18 would one in Mississippi have to press charges?
I don't practice in Mississippi but generally in cases of child abuse the hospital would be required to call child...
If the breathalyzer says insufficent what does this mean?
I took a breathalyzer test and it read insufficent but i was charged with refusal
An insufficient reading means that the breath machine failed to register a useable/readable breath sample. The police...
What is the worst I can be sentenced for my D.U.I. other(marijuana) charge in MS. ?
Was arrested and charged with possession and dui. I am 19, college student , first offense.
Because it is a first offense you may have a possibility of reducing or ultimately dismissing the charges. Contact an...
I was charged with an DUI, how do I go about not having this on my record?
I lost my job because of this charge, was not informed about the non judicial system until I paid my fine off
It's unclear from your question whether you have been convicted or not of DUI. If you have not been convicted, then...
Can I get a a first DUI expunged if I have a second DUI??
I was 18 when I got my first DUI and my attorney was supposed to get it expunged but I found out when I got a second DUI it wasn't expunged. Can I still have it expunged? Unfortunately I was young and dumb on the first one and wasted my money on a sorry attorney.
You can not expunge the first one now, and unfortunately you can't non-adjudicate the second one. However, you may be...
What should be my next course of action with a scenario such as this?
I rear ended a non moving car in the middle of the road on a state highway in Mississippi. I have smoked marijuana under an hour before the accident and was caught with 2 or less grams of marijuana under the driver seat of the car. I was charged with DUI and possession in a motor vehicle and the driver of the other vehicle was ticketed for not having insurance. There is still minor details that are left but this is the tip of the iceberg. What should be my best step or possibly reaching a lower penalty ,and I am a first time offender to both charges. Plus, I was not told the consequences of refusing to take a urine test to test THC levels and was curious how this and me saying no to the urine test would affect the case.
Contact an attorney with free consultations.
Can a judge suspend your time you have already served?
got ten years 5 suspended, i did five years violated probation judge gave me 5 back and suspended 5 again that makes fifteen years, so hes suspendin my five years i already did?
Are you sure the judge didn't just re-impose the five years actual (giving you credit for time previously served) and...