Patterson Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Patterson, CA or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Patterson Law

Can criminal court fees be waived?
I want to know what court fees can be waived in criminal court. I went to court for DUI. The judge offered 2 days in jail or AWP program and a fine of $1800 plus go to DUI class for 3 months ($580) plus $250 to DMV. I want to know would I qualify for wett reckless? Alcohol level was .11% so I'm told. The problem is that I cannot afford any of this. I wasn't aware that I had to pay a $50 processing fee to see a public defender. I am on unemployment not by choice and I support 7 people on it. Can a lawyer or PD reduce the fees? I know they cannot reduce or waive the fees for DUI class. $1800 is a bit much and I cannot begin to make payment arrangements. Is there another way? Because I stated I couldn't pay the fees now I have to see a public defender. Will the judge offer still stand?
You did a good thing by not taking the judge's offer. You should never plead guilty to anything before an attorney has...
Does it matter how you get pulled over for a DUI? The initial charge was for not having a license plate on the front of my car.
There were cops posted nearby. After leaving the nightclub, I was taking a friend to his car which was parked in the same parking lot as the post office. As we were leaving the club and driving to the post office parking lot, we pulled into the driveway of the post office. While there, we decided to check our mail. There was a cop who was already tailing and profiling someone else before deciding to come after us. He went around the roundabout (making a u-turn) and decides to pull in the parking lot. The cop initially said he pulled us over because he thought we were avoiding him and then said for not having a license plate in front of vehicle. It was in the trunk because I didn't have screws. So the cop asks if we'd been drinking. Yes we had. Then suddenly the initial ticket was changed.
The fact that there was no license plate is enough probable cause to pull you over. No whether he had enough probable...
Misdemeanor DUI expunged - If asked on a job app if I have ever been arrested or convicted of a crime do I have to say yes?
If expunged do I have to say yes to being convicted of a crime on a job application?
In California, your conviction is never actually expunged, it is dismissed. If your conviction is dismissed under...
I blew a .084 after being pulled over leaving my house(literally one block). I passed all field sobriety tests.
Blew .084. Not arrested, car didnt get towed. They drove me to my brothers house across town actually. I blew a .084 after passing all field sobriety tests. I dont have a criminal back ground and is my first time having negative interaction with police. What are my options and do we have an idea of what is going to happen?? incident was on 3/1/2016
Go find a criminal defense attorney ASAP. You'll need to move quickly to deal with the DMV, and once the criminal case...
Is it possible for Lincoln Nebraska where I received my DUI if sentenced to jail time if I can serve my sentence in California
Recently I was driving from Michigan to California I got stopped on I 80 for a DUI it's my third one my prior two were in California I have to go back to court in April
You'll need to retain counsel in Lincoln, Nebraska. It's unlikely you can serve any jail sentence anywhere but in NE.
AT NO TIME DID THE JUDGE ORDER MY LICENSE SUSPENDED. ALSO SUSPENSION IS NOT ON MY MINUTE ORDER . CAN THE COURT DO THIS ANYWAY.
I RECEIVED A DWI IN JULY 2013. THE OFFICER TOOK MY LICENSE ON THE SPOT. ABOUT A WEEK LATER I GOT A LETTER OF SET ASIDE FROM CA.DMV TELLING ME THAT THE ARRESTING AGENCY DID NOT HAVE THE PROPER EVIDENCE TO TAKE MY LICENSE AND TO GO TO ANY FIELD OFFICE AND GET MY LICENSE BACK FREE OF CHARGE. SO I DID. AFTER GETTING MY LICENSE BACK I THOUGHT THE CASE IN COURT WOULD HAVE BEEN DISMISSED. IN MARCH OF 2015 WHILE TRYING TO GET FOOD STAMPS I WAS INFORMED I HAD A FELONY WARRANT FOR FTA . PUT MYSELF ON CALLENDER . WAS REMANDED INTO CUSTODY. CHARGED WITH A DUI WITH A PRIOR. PRIOR WAS 8 1/2 YEAR OLD FELONY DUI WITH INJURY WITCH MADE THE NEW DUI A FELONY EVEN THOUGH NEW DUI WOULD HAVE BEEN A MISDAMEANER. THREATENED WITH 18 MONTHS IN STATE PRISON. TOOK A PLEA DEAL. 270 DAYS WITH 1/2 TIME CURRENTLY ON ANKLE MONITOR AT THE SALVATION ARMY SHELTER UNTIL 2/20/16 .JUDGE ORDERED LEVEL 2 DUI CLASS AND NOT TO DRIVE UNLESS LEGALLY INSURED AND LICENSED TO DO SO. ATTEMPTED TO GET INSURANCE IN JAN 2016 "LICENSE WAS SUSPENDED" IN OCTOBER 2015 THE COURT SENT A LETTER OF SUSPENSION TO DMV. SO DMV SUSPENDED MY LICENSE.. THIS WAS NOT PART OF MY PLEA AGREEMENT AND WAS NOT PART OF MY SENTANCE.
A plea / conviction triggered a license suspension when it was electronically sent to the DMV.
Because there is no evidence of my BAC at the time of my arrest, will the DMV still suspend my license? If so, for how long?
I was arrested for DUI in San Joaquin County. I did not request a DMV hearing because I thought it was pointless. As it turns out, my blood test was lost and I pleaded guilty to a wet and reckless.
Yes, you still may receive a license suspension since you did not request a hearing. Generally you need to attend the...