Otter Creek Crime

Otter Creek Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Otter Creek, FL or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Otter Creek Law

Can new laws and recent scientific studies allow me the opportunity to get old record ex-sponged?
I pled out to Negligent Manslaughter/Vehicular Homicide back in 2010. I was in a wreck and the young lady I hit lost her life. They found small amounts of Marijuana in my blood. I was charged with DUI Manslaughter and pled out to the lesser for 366 days and four year supervision. All of the studies I read lately are showing the amount they found in my blood was well below the "level of impairment"...I smoked 32 hours prior to my wreck.
I could talk about MJ impairment studies for hours, but that's not going to help the situation. Your time for appeals...
If facing VOP for 1st time DUI can judge sentence to jail for the maximum 6 months if already completed 8 months of probation?
My Dad was originally charged with a first-time regular DUI. Meaning there was no property damage, no one was injured, and he did not blow over a .15. He began serving a 1 year probation term for the DUI 8 months ago. He just recently got charged with a new offense which I'm sure at some point in the near future will cause a probation violation. Therefore, my question is: If the maximum jail sentence for this original DUI is 6 months and he has already served 8 months without incident on probation -- can a judge still sentence him to jail time? I have heard that sentencing for this could be a maximum of 6 months jail time minus any amount of probation time served but I can't find any recent answers on this specific question. I don't understand the point of issuing a warrant if they wouldn't be able to sentence him to jail but I'm in math/finance not law. :) Also, we will be looking for a good VOP attorney on this to handle the bond hearing, etc. Thank you for your information it will be much appreciated.
A probation violator does NOT get credit for time served on probation against a jail sentence. So, the direct answer...
Typical sentence for first dwlsr with knowledge in levy county
Is there a Typical sentence for first dwlsr with knowledge in levy county when the charge happens after being suspended for DUI?
If you plead guilty, typically the sentence will be up to 60 days in jail. So, don't be guilty. Get a lawyer involved...
I've been charged with 2 hit and run misdemeanors and a DUI. I have a perfectly clean record. Could I serve jail time?
Happened in Florida, first offense of anything illegal, etc. I'm only 19.
Yes you COULD. The perfectly clean record would only help at setencing if you plead guilty or are found guilty at trial....
Dui reinstatement
I got a dui March 4th 2016, found my dui from 23 years ago in MN so was charged with a 2nd dui. Was sentenced to 30 days weekend jail, violated, did 30, on probation for a year violated and sentenced to 160 days probation revoked. ( not that it matters to this case but have been sober since September :)) did my time and my suspension of my license will be up in a couple of months. I know I have to take the dui classes, dui insurance for 3 years, and interlock for 1 year. I am making payments on my fine but heard I can't get my license back till I pay all of it. I paid the $125 fee for not having insurance (I was incarcerated) anything else I have to do to get reinstated? I live in collier county Florida
All of those conditions of probation were likely reduced to a lien against your license. If so, until you complete...
Can dui be reduced or dismissed ? Can it get you dismiss drom rotc program
How long to dui and reckless driving stay on your record 1st offense prior incidents have not been to court yet. Was stopped for lights not being on.
Q: Can dui be reduced or dismissed ? A: Anything is possible; whether or not it is probable is another story....
Question on how to read a Florida dui citation ?
It has the following phrases : *Yes or no to fatal injury (self explanatory) *Yes or no to serious bodily injury (self explanatory) *Yes or no to injury to another.. Does this mean did you cause a minor injury to another person? If no is answered on all 3 questions does this mean the police documented no injuries? Do they determine injuries by asking all participants in an accident and by asking paramedics?
This is not a slip and fall question. Moving it over to DUi/DWI for better answers.