21°F | 19°F
New Haven Crime
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near New Haven, IN or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
New Haven Law
I was breathalyzed at a party and blew a .071% for underage drinking. Its my first offense, should i plead guilty?
Its my first offense, and under the legal limit. On a college campus, by college police.
It depends. The crime is punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine, so if I ware you I would hire an attorney....
My grandson (age 20) was charged with a DUI 9/01/12. At his first hearing he told the judge he wanted to get an attorney.
He contacted an attorney but does not have the means to pay the $750 retainer fee. He will be laid off from his a job (seasonal) in Nov. He doesn't qualify for unemployment as he has only been at his job since May. His net income averages less than $300/wk. My grandson went to his second hearing prepared to ask for a Public Defender. When he told the judge he can't afford an attorney, the judge only asked him if he had a job, of which he answered "yes". The judge IMMEDIATELY told him to appear in one week with an attorney. My grandson tried to tell the judge his circumstances, but the judge was very rude and said, "Did you hear me? I said you are . to appear with an attorney at next weeks hearing." So how does my grandson have a P.D. appointed since the judge needs to do that?
I would recommend that he write to the judge detailing his financial circumstances and the lawyers he has contacted...
Convicted of OVI in Ohio, live in Indiana. Is Ohio wrong in asking for reinstatement fee?
My boyfriend was convicted of an OVI in Ohio(we live in Indiana), he plead guilty and got a 6 month license suspension, among other things. A couple months later Ohio sent him a letter telling him to send in his driver's license, proof of insurance and a reinstatement fee of $475. I looked online and it says Ohio cannot take out of state licenses, it's up to the home state. Is Ohio mistaken in asking for this? Does he owe them a reinstatement fee since he doesn't have an Ohio driver's license? Indiana has not sent him anything asking for a reinstatement fee or even saying that his license is suspended. He went through a Driver Safety Program required by the Indiana BMV and that plus the OVI are on his driver record, but his driver record doesn't even say he has a suspension. I'm not sure what to do, he wants to call a lawyer, but I feel that's too drastic. If Ohio is mistaken should we just call the BMV they're telling him to send his license to and explain he's not a resident? And why would his driving record not have the driving suspension on it, does it mean he's not suspended in Indiana?
Seems like you've been sent a form letter. No, it doesn't apply to him.
I live in Indiana and have received a ten year suspension (HTV). Just got arrested for driving are there minimum jail terms?
My HTV is due to three DUIs in ten years and has be in place for about four years now.
There's no minimum time the way there is for repeat DUI's. You're facing a Level 6 felony with a sentence ranging from...
If I had a dui in July 2010 which was pled to a reckless driving charge, is it too soon to have it expunged, & how to i proceed?
what is involved with having it expunged?
The best way to get it expunged, is to talk to an attorney. There are plenty of criminal attorney's that can assist...
At a party a female drank and smoked weed, and the male only smoked weed is it rape because the female was drunk?
were both 16 we both smoked weed only the female drank and was very drunk
Maybe. Being unable to consent makes sex rape.
Wondering if someone with an HTV (suspended for 10 yrs) can petition the court without having to wait 5 full years now in 2015?
Does a person who suffers a mandatory ten year driver's license suspension (separate from court) have to wait five years (without a driving offense) before petitioning the court for a probabtionary license for work? I heard the rule was repealed at the start of 2015 and want to verify. If this person is allowed to petition through court and a probabtionary license is issued, is it possible this person can drive children around in the vehicle if going to and from their school? They recieved an HTV due to 4 arrests for DUI's in the last 10 yrs. What the court may not know when this person is petitioning is that this person lost custody of their son due to them drinking and driving with a child in their vehicle.
Technically they may be eligible for Special Driving Pivileges, which is the new name for a probationary license. If...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 40,211 • Total comments across all topics: 267,377,899
Copyright © 2016 Topix LLC