31°F | 17°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Millport, NY or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Millport People Search
I have just been sentenced with a .08 DWI in Chemung County, NY. The court order states i need the interlock device on my car for 6 months and i must attend the DDP. My license has been revoked for 6 months as well. In the letter from the DMV it states: "The court sentence requires dmv to place an interlock restriction on your driving record and on your driver license if you have one."does this mean the interlock restriction will appear on my license and record forever? if yes, does that also mean i will forever have to have an interlock device in my vehicle? in court i was under the impression that it would just be for the 6 months but now i am confused...
It is just for the 6 months. Joseph A. Lo Piccolo, Esq. Immediate Past President, Criminal Courts Bar Association...
I got originally 6 months weekends i missed 2 days when i was on work release got resentenced to finish out my original sentence. The judge wrote up a new commitment and with the time i originally did the jail turned it to straight time so instead of doing 2 more weekends they are telling me i got 4 and half months now left which turned my original 6 months of weekends into 10 1/2 months of weekends?
You can't legally get 10 1/2 months of weekends. Contact your attorney. Joseph A. Lo Piccolo, Esq. Immediate...
My brother has custody of his two kids. He was arrested for DWI this past weekend and given a blood test two hours after arrest, no breathalyser given. Can he lose custody? He is considering installing one of those breathalyser mechanisms in his car before the court date to show the judge he's taking it seriously. Will this help him? He lives in New York State. Thanks for any advice!
One would hope that one Dwi arrest would not change custody status. If the is an action the court will look at multiple...
I have been charged with misdemeaner reckless driving and driving w/ability impared by drug and failure to keep right (traffic i
infraction.i have prior convictions of dwai's ,2,and a felony charge of criminal possesion of a forged instrument.all more than ten years ago.the 'drugs'i was on are my own legal scrips, both are controlled substances.my questions are ;does it help if i get a favorable justice because there are three in this court and one is a personal family friend and another i am on good terms with due to our sons playing hockey together , the third is known to be a hard ass.what might the outcome be for me , can i use a public defender?the traffic stop was due to an anonomous call.i was taken to hospital for blood tests and failed the field sobriety tests.i was polite throughout the process and probably appeared to be "high".they impounded my car but let me go home after about an hour.
You do not get to choose your judge and in your case, you may get the bad one by default as the other 2 may cite a...
I got a misdemeanor D.W.I., I am going to school to be a nurse. Can I still be a nurse with the D.W.I.?
It's a Misd. D.W.I. I blew a .10 Bac.
When you say you got... Do you mean that is what you were charged with or that was the final disposition? If it was...
I got a dwai in NY and live in NY, I paid NY, but Florida wont release my license until I pay them too?
I moved back to NY in the fall of 03. I never switched my license back over because I wasn't sure if I was going to stay. 6/6/04 I got a DWI. I got it reduced and was convicted of dwai .08 or less. .08 or less is not dui under Florida law. I switched my lic. from Florida back to NY on 7/23/04, my sentence and revocation started 7/24/04.. I paid my dues and served 90 days without a NY license. Now 8 years later I cant renew my NY license because Florida says I owe them money for this and I have to take some 12 hour course that's $245. Isn't that double punishment? Since my license was NYS when I started my sentence does that make Florida punishment null? my conviction date was 7/7/04.
I'm not clear on which state license you had when you were convicted of the DWAI. Either way if Florida has issued a...
I'm from Ohio & went to New York this summer. Got busted at a party for underage. Blew a .03 and my appearance is today. What will happen? It will be my foray offense ever, in any state.
This charge is a violation, not a crime, meaning that you're not going to end up with a criminal record here. After...
Comments made yesterday: 78,361 • Total comments across all topics: 228,670,302
Copyright ©2013 Topix LLC