Marion Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Marion, SC or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Marion Law

I would like an answer on whether or not you have to give your license to an officer at a scheduled DUI stop.
In South Carolina, if police officers are conducting a planned and scheduled stop, and they ask me for my drivers license and proof of insurance and registration can I tell them "no thank you I don't have to"?
You cannot refuse under those circumstances. The license to drive is a privilege, and if you are operating a motor...
How do I get my driver's license after 2nd dui 6 years ago
received 2nd dui 6 years ago, waved the mva hearing, served jail time, did 90 day inpatient rehab, joined the military, recently honorably discharged, what steps do I need to take
You should contact the DMV to see what steps you need to take to have your license reinstated. If they are more...
My license is suspended for a DUI in west Virginia but I live in south carolina.
I was arrested for two DUIs in West Virginia before I turned 21. I served my jail sentence and enough time has passed that I can get my license back if I pay my fines, take DUI classes, and have a breathalyzer installed in my vehicle. However, I moved to south carolina before I completed any of these things and the DUI laws are different here. How should I go about getting my license back?
It's likely that the punishment will stay the same, but you contact a lawyer in South Carolina.
My license is suspended in one state for a DUI but ive moved to another state.
I was arrested for two DUIs in West Virginia before I turned 21. I served my jail sentence and enough time has passed that I can get my license back if I pay my fines, take DUI classes, and have a breathalyzer installed in my vehicle. However, I moved to south carolina before I completed any of these things and the DUI laws are different here. How should I go about getting my license back?
It's likely that the new state will find out about your suspended licence.
1st DUI Nolie Prosequi 2nd won at the motor vehicle hearing. Case is over now Told to play guilty Can I apply again for hearing
I wanted to go to trial because I knew that I would win. Lawyer talked me into pled guilty and I was not given a copy, but I signed some papers. I am a register nursing student and I asked him many times if my case can be expunged if I lost my case, he said yes. On 5/28/ 2015, after signing the paper lawyer gave me a number to call to get information on applying for expunge. As you know their is no expunge on DUI charge, which I didn't know it at the time or I would have went to trial. My case was first at the DUI court in Rock hill, and after my case was over I learned that reason it was moved to York County, General Sessions is because I was charged with 2nd DUI, when my 1st on 2010 was Nolie Prosequi. Discovery video didn't have anything on me, it was only bits hear and their.
I am not licensed in South Carolina, so out of respect for any experienced attorney licensed in SC who also answers...
Information about getting a special provisional driver's license.
1st DUI charge was dropped. After my 2nd DUI, I received from Department of motor vehicles that I cannot drive for 12 months and cannot get a provisional license. I had filed with office of motor vehicle for hearing and won and I was driving with go anywhere driver's license. I am in process of seeing about filing for PCR. My own attorney destroyed my case. I know I will get what I am asking. Even after I win my case I am assuming I cannot apply to the office of motor vehicle hearing again? I am also assuming that both of my DUI charge will stay in my driving record for so many years even if the case was dismissed and I have to wait 12 months and go through programs before getting my license back? In mean time is their anything I could apply to the court, or to the motor hearing?
I am not licensed in South Carolina, so out of respect for any experienced attorney licensed in SC who answers your...
Received charge of Habitual Traffic Offender 3rd Offense but NEVER charged OR convicted of a 2nd... Only ever a 1st.
Received a Driving Under Suspension 3rd or subsequent and Habitual 3rd. My question is not about the Driving Under Suspension because I understand and agree with that charge. But not the other. 3 years ago, I was charged and plead to ONE Habitual Traffic Offender but have NEVER been charged or convicted of a Habitual 2nd. The officer told me that he charged me with a 3rd offense due to the Department of Motor Vehicles placing me on HTO status and not a criminal conviction, which is what he was counting as the second offense. Is this legal or can I get this charged dismissed? it seems that this would be penalizing me for a crime I did time and paid a fine for previously or double jeopardy ... Please help
You should discuss this with a SC attorney in more detail. If you want to find one in your area here on AVVO you can...