56°F | 47°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Marion, AR or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Can you appeal a dui ruling by a judge if you waived your right to counsel at the first court date after arrest?
I was pulled over for speeding. (80 in a 40). Refused breathalyzer test. Was not made to blow at the jail. I have had a lot of foot injuries in the past and told the officer this before a balance field test was given on ground that wasn't level. I had to hold one foot in the air for a 15 count. I was mad to follow his his finger above my head with my eyes and did that easily. I only waived my right to counsel because I thought I wouldn't have money for a lawyer. So I signed the waiver and plead no contest. Court was on the 8th and I have 30 days to appeal.
You waiver to counsel was knowing and done under oath. So, now after court you want to appeal, but to do so you need...
She is currently in jail on a 4,375 bond which includes fines/fees she is due for court on 8/2 and i'm trying to see if they will let her being that she spent time in jail already on the failure to appear or will we have to bond her out? this is her first offense for dui
I'm not an AR attorney, however in California where I practice this is something that is routinely done. Contact your...
Can a DUI conviction from two n a half years ago be reduced to reckless driving? I'm trying to get my license back.
I got convicted of a DUI in Arkansas back in 2012. But at the time I still had a Illinois drivers license so it also registered in Illinois. So my license is revoked until 2018. Even though I did what was required of the state of Arkansas and paid all off my fines, and also I'm not suspended in Arkansas any longer, I'm still suspended in Illinois. And I've lived in Arkansas for five years now and cant get a license here because of illinois. And i need my car for work. But the DMV in Illinois said the only way that they can drop the revocation is if I can get the conviction in Arkansas reduced to reckless driving. Because reckless driving isnot a felony in iIllinois.
The answer is no as to "reduction of charge" as it applies to the Arkansas conviction.
I gave a urine sample twice for my work and they did not read a temp. The second sample was monitored management .
Caused of tampering witha urine sample at Tyson foods. These test are suppose to be random yet I've been tested twice in the last 2 months when no one else was tested twice.
I don't really see how this is a criminal law question, as it looks more like an employment law question. If so, you...
I was pulled over last march and got a dwi in arkansas. I have not gone to court yet, my attorney is taking it to trial in Jan.
I am being transferred to Colorado by the company I work for on Dec 1. It was suggested by the law office I am working for that I wait at least 6months before I try to get a Colorado license to avoid having a suspension in Colorado. My license is currently restricted in arkansas. I will be done with my alchohol classes and be able to get the interlock system off of my vehicle on Nov. 26th here in arkansas before I leave. Colorado told me that I have to get a Colorado drivers license within 30 days of working in Colorado. Law office said that if I am convicted in arkansas that the state will report the DUI to whatever state I am currently holding a drivers license in. I will need to get new car insurance in Colorado too. Trying to avoid Colorado suspension and 9 m. More of interlock. HELP
Attorney is correct -- your DUI problems in AR will be known to CO if you are convicted. Hope you have a GOOD lawyer...
So if someone gets 1st DWI & reckless driving ticket , even blew .15 or more they should get a lawyer ?
My daughter hit another auto , they left so she continued down the hwy with damaged car mainly to front passenger side . So they gave breath .15 plus not sure . They arrested her , after about 5 hrs let her call someone to come pick her up . She got DWI & driving reckless ticket , 1st time for either . Last ticket she got was speeding ticket back in 2011 . She works full time , has never been in trouble and pays all of her bills on her own . She was suspended today from her job , that she has been at for 3 years . They told her if she didn't have the charges dropped she would be fired . Her court isn't until Nov 25th , I just don't know what she should do .
The most important thing you can do for her is hire an attorney. Her DUI is not a "simple" one and even for those, you...
Would out-of-state DWI/DUIs count towards the number of offenses in a new state? Specifically from GA to AR.
I have a valid out-of-state license which was suspended for not submitting to the field sobriety tests. I requested a blood test be administered, but the officer charged me with refusing the BAC tests entirely. I am curious this will be treated as a first offense DUI in Arkansas. The Georgia offense occurred 4-5 years ago.
You are giving some mixed information here. Are you asking specifically about a prior DWI conviction or a prior refusal...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 46,490 • Total comments across all topics: 250,718,950
Copyright © 2014 Topix LLC