Liberty Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Liberty, NC or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Liberty Law

What should I expect and would I be notified about a case when a drunk and impaired (drugs) driver goes to court for hitting me?
An under aged drunk and impaired driver ran a stop light and hit me and totaled both vehicles. I was told by the paramedic after they finally got to me that he was impaired and since it was late I did seem to have a concussion and vertigo. They could take me to the hospital but it would probably be a 6 hour wait. They could take me but might be better to wait til morning and try going to a chiropractor to get x-rays. Was told later the paramedic thought I needed a hospital. I waited and had someone take me for x-rays. Dr said may have concussion and definitely vertigo, (Needed assistance in standing and walking) but would start some therapy to try to relieve the pressure in my head, shoulder and back. Told me I probably should go to hospital still. Take some Dramamine to help with sickness. I had to go back to work because I can't lose my job but continued at chiropractor. 4 months of therapy I still have severe headaches and ears stopped up. Shoulder pain and numbness in both arms. I do not want to use my personal insurance for MRI and specialist. What should I do? I have not settled with insurance nor contact lawyer. I just want to stop hurting and get back whole.
I am sorry that you are still experiencing pain and that you continue to suffer from injuries received in your recent...
Do I go straight to jail the same day if my sentence isn't suspended?
I'm going to get thirty days minimum and my sentence can't be suspended. Does that mean I go straight to jail when I'm sentenced? Can I still get weekend jail or house arrest instead of thirty straight days in jail?
Normally one begins serving an active sentence immediately after it is ordered, there is no delay. So if you are going...
What can happen to me for a DWI and FTA from 1991 in NC
Evidently I was charged with a DWI in NC but I left the state before I went to court and to be absolutely honest I don't even remember this but it is causing issues with my present license. I have lived in Alaska for more than 23 years now
I guess the folks at Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles issued you a license at some time in the past but will not...
Are there any alternatives to interlock in NC?
My husband acquired 4 dui's 20+ years ago before I met him. It was before the three strike rule. He was sentenced to the interlock but never looked into it. Since it has been so long ago, are there any alternatives besides the interlock to restore his license privileges? Thank You.
This is a DMV question. However, it is almost certain that he will have to get an interlock to be eligible for any...
What can I do about a 1991 DWI with failure to appear case I just realized was out there (I live in Alaska and not going NC)
I was living in a brutally abusive marriage at the time and the state of NC offered literally no support or protection to victims of domestic violence. I was living in hell and saw no way out. I developed a drinking problem as a way of coping. Eventually I ran - fled the marriage and the state and never looked back. Truth be told I don't even remember this case. I have been sober for the last 20 years and even minister a sobriety support group. I was beaten within an inch of my life in NC and no one (law enforcement) did anything to help or protect me I vowed when I left I would never step foot back in that state and I haven't and will not. I just want to resolve this case without being present.
I am moving your practice area to get you more accurate responses.
What is max penalty for 1st offense intoxicated and disruptive? What class misdemeanor is this?
Neighbor in street heard me say "bullshit" and later was charged with being intoxicated and disruptive
This is a class 3 misdemeanor. The maximum punishment is 20 days in jail, but that only applies of you have 5 or more...
Best lawyer for 2nd dui inside the 7 year guildline with refusal to consent in Randolph county nc
I was in a single vehicle wreck while i was at the hospital i was charged with DUI I cant remember anything after swerving i was dodging an animal i believe hit a tree at 60 mph. I was in shock my wife tells me i was out of my head but they say i refused the take the test does a person state of mind after a sever accident no account because i know not to refuse anything a cops ask me to do. its bad enough ive been charged with another DUI. waited 3 years on the first one to prove my case just to plead guilty since they were going to trail without my proof just to get into an accident and them using my state of mind after this bad wreck to muscle me into a DUI charge i have no memory of the hospital or them arresting me after or even my wife taking me home. I would like the best lawyer I can get in this county so I can have a fair go at this case so Im not just giving up like before. also i was driving with a provisional license and WAS coming home from a job site
We can't self-promote via the Q and A section of avvo.