Leon Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Leon, WV or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Leon Law

Can you be charged with DUI causing death to another person after they have settled with your insurance company
the passenager of the wreck settled out of court with my insurance company, while he was in a nursing home, after being in there for 7 months they let him go home with his wife, he cought phnumona then went back to nursing home, then a few days later ened up dying, they charged my husband with DUI causing injury, now that the other guy passed away they are trying to charge my husband with DUI causing death. can the state do that after the other guy signed a release paper for my insurance company
Signing a release with an insurance company does nothing to impact a criminal prosecution. The insurance claim is a...
What if you do not own a car but it is required by law to complete the test and lock program in WV to reinstate your license?
I recently received a DUI in wv. The administrative consequences according to a letter I received in the mail state my license will be suspended for 45 days and after completing mandatory alcohol test and lock program as well as safety and treatment program I could reinstate my license. The problem is I do not own a car nor have approval from anyone to install a breathalyzer in their car. How is this situation handled?
There is a provision in the governing statute that allows for the citizen to request "incapable" status. Incapable...
Can my charges be changed after my arraignment and before or during court in Berkely, WV?
I was arrested in Berkely,Wv for DUI first offense and that's what I was arraigned for but I have a few DUI in Md. The DUI in md can only be used against me if they are within 5 years however WV considers DUI from 10 years prior, the arresting officer didn't see them when he ran my information, I'm also assuming the magistrate judge didn't see them as I was only charged with 1st offense DUI (0.13)bac, can my charges be changed by the time all is said and done with court, does md keep record of and will they share my history prior to 5 years ago with WV? I'm not sure what to expect.
First of all, if your "DUI Attorney" was remotely knowledgeable of WV DUI law he or she would have told you that not...
How would PA and WV recognize my first offense DUI received in NC?
I am currently charged with a DUI in the state of NC. I am a resident in NC as well. My BAC was .15 or .16 I cannot remember exactly. I passed my sobriety test so we are hoping this does not even interfere but I want to have all my options explained. I plan on moving to PA or WV within the next few months. I have no prior record or issues. If convicted, which state has fewer/lesser penalties for a first time DUI offender? How would I go about getting a new DL? How long would my lisence be suspended? Would an interlock system be required and if so how long? I read WV provides options, is that true? I just want to move on from this unfortunate event and continue living my life.
Because you are charged in North Carolina, North Carolina law applies. It does not matter so much whether West...
Can I be charged with DUI
On Thursday night I was in a one car accident I hit a embankment. I was taken to the hospital by ambulance and blood was drawn. The police did not come to the hospital and I was released to my wife.I had been drinking can I still be charged .
You can still be charged so you should refrain from posting anything about the night in question or discussing same...
How can I be charged with a 3rd offense driving on suspended when I haven't been charged with a second offense.
I was arrested on 3/6/2017 for driving on suspended while revoked for DUI and I was charged with a 3rd offense felony driving on suspended. In February of 2017 I pled guilty to srl miscellaneous and I have one more prior SRl miscellaneous plea and one first offense driving on suspended. I am confused as to why they're charging me with a 3rd offense. And the officer no probable cause to pull me over in the first place.
Not enough information here to provide a clear response. A DUI Revoked 1st and another DUI Revoked 1st followed by a...
I can't afford my DUI classes it's 440.00 money order for 6 weeks dui classes can the state help me play that?
I have a job I make 300 every 2 weeks and also receive ssi and that is 500 do I make more than I should or will they help me also rent is 500 and food and every other bill I have coming out a month so I only have maybe 50 bucks at end of month because I pay rent bills etc
The specific answer always comes from the probation officer who carries out your Judge's orders not a bunch of strange...