17°F | 14°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Laporte, MN or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
My nephew got his 3rd DWI driving my minivan, and my van is said to be forfeited, i am handicapped how do i get it back?
my Nephew was driving my van without a liceance (unknown to me) and got his 3rd DWI my van was impounded and told to be forfeited, its been two days and the arresting officer still has not gotten back to me on how to get van back. The deputy answering phone said they had to interview me about letting him use my vehicle, also mentioning i may get fined and may have to go to court in 30 days to try and get my van back. Now I desperately need my vehicle I am handicapped and have a major surgery coming up in days with quite a few dr. appts in these weeks between I have no one else that can take me, I live on a limited income and i am still paying for my vehicle i can not afford to get another and still pay for my van please i need help and dont know what to do.
That sucks, don't expect the police to help. You need a lawyer. The cops couldn't care less.
I was charged for felony DUI & Test refusal and was not the inital driver of my vehicle. The police reports are also conflicting
I was a passenger in my own vehicle when a citizen reported my car swaying in the lane. The driver turned into a McDonald's restaraunt and I took over the driver side to see the menu and order. Just then I looked in the rear view mirror and the red lights were on us. I was told to pull over to the side and me and the driver switched seats again. I was charged as the driver going all over the road and failed my field sobriety test. After reading the police reports from three separate officers, the reports have conflicting information about who was actually behind the wheel at the time of the stop. Also I was on seroquel which is a strong anti-pychotic medication. I did not do the intoxilizer. Does it sound like I may have a chance to fight this?
Although Avvo is an excellent resource, this question is far more complex than this cite is designed for. In Minnesota...
For arguments sake lets just say dropped dwi and test refusal charges.. how do i get my vehicle back from forfeiture..??
DWI, Test refusal, refused chemical testing, license restriction violation .vehicle forfeiture. charged 1/19/15. Public defender and prosecutor have both been removed and replaced..it is now 2/10/2016 All charges except license restriction violation are dropped..discovery still not provided, to date.. Obviously corrupt prosecutor and public defender, collaboration withholding evidence..etc.. What happens to my vehicle..Obviously no advice from former public defender.. lien holding bank was never notified about the forfeiture either..Yet No one will say anything other than "Its a civil matter" The last charge will be dropped or thrown due to spoilage and or evidence tampering.police misconduct , so where is my vehicle and how do i get it back.. who do i sue??
You have 30 days from the time of notice to challenge your driver's license revocation. You have 60 days from the time...
Does the judge has a power to expunge a DWI in Minnesota ?
Is it possible to expunge a Misdemeanor DWI in Minnesota, which occurred 5 years ago and you plead guilty to it. It is the first and the only offense !
The decision whether or not to expunge a criminal conviction is up to the judge. Recent amendments to the law with...
Can you reduce a conviction DWI in Minnesota ?
My friend pleaded guilty to a Misdemeanor DWI five years ago in Minnesota and she is wondering if she can reduce the conviction to reckless driving by persuade the judge ? this was her only and first offense
No but she might try retaining a lawyer to have it expunged altogether
How likely is it that I will be charged with a DUI after the fact of my minor consumption?
I was sitting in my car at a gas station when two police officers pulled up. They said they were told two young girls appeared to be drinking. My friend and I both received underage consumption tickets and we walked home. I'm worried they might try to charge me with a DUI, but they never said anything about being in my car. Is it likely that they will upon paying my minor consumption ticket? The ticket itself had to be mailed to me and my vehicle is listed on it, but not my BAC level and it only says alcohol consumption by person under 21.
No. If you haven't already been charged with DWI, it's highly unlikely that you will now. However, I could see the...
I need some advise if possible on what I need to do to get my license back I live in Minnesota but the dui happened in Illinoi
I have 2 dui convictions they both happened back in 2004 March and April 1 was in Missouri and the other was in Illinois..the one in Illinois is the problem it's not allowing me to get a license in the state I live in now (Minnesota)
Fix Illinois first. Only then will Minnesota allow you to obtain a valid Minnesota driver's license. Call the DMV in...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 40,211 • Total comments across all topics: 267,387,630
Copyright © 2016 Topix LLC