Kodiak Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Kodiak, AK or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Kodiak Law

Can my victim plead the fifth because she was drunk and got me charged with dv (assault) (felony)
My gf came home drunk and initiated a fight. I told her to leave and she continued. I tried to pick her up to put her outside and she fought me knocking us both down. I pulled her hair to try and pick her up. She started to yell so I tried to cover her mouth then she bit me, so I choked her. I got her out of the house and she called the police. They are charging me with felony assault and she doesn't want to press charges cause she feels bad and doesn't hardly remember anything. can she plead the fifth because she doesn't remember what really happened.
This is a fairly common tactic but it doesn't always work out so well for the defendant or the alleged victim. Yes,...
License Reinstatement Requirements in Alaska After 1st DUI
I was charged with a first DUI in Alaska on 10/1/13. My license was revoked for 90 days. I also have 3 days jail (remanded to 1/15/14), SR22 and ignition interlock requirement, alcohol classes and a fine. After 90 days, if I have not completed my other requirements yet, can I get my license reinstated?
You have to show you are in compliance with your ASAP (Alcohol Safety Action Program) requirements, which usually means...
Can I be charged with a DUI if the police never witnessed me driving>
I woke up intoxicated at 4:30 in the morning with my friends saying that my car was in the ditch. They told me it has been there since 3:30 in the morning. The police came to my house at 4:46 am and started by saying "It's pretty cold outside, we're are coming in." so they just stepped in my house. They started questioning me and asked if I drove the car there, all I said was "I must have if my friend told me." and they pulled my drunk friend out of the other room, but he surprisingly passed the breathalyzer with a .00 . He did not witness me driving, but the police just got him to state that I was the driver. After being questioned they arrested me for an MIP, and possible DUI. Is there any way around the DUI?
Yes, they can charge you. Operation can be proven through witnesses, circumstantial evidence or your own admissions.
How do I contact a public defender regarding my recent DUI arrest in Kenai?
I was arrested and charged with DUI and refusal. My bail was $1000 and I am unclear about whether I am being charged with a felony or not.
If you have been to court and had the Public Defender appointed, then you can just call their office and they will...
How do I get a driver's licence after felony dui
Got charged with a dui. Likely conviction.
Consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney in your area. Whether you are convicted or this charge will...
What do i do when a judge is discriminating?
A judge rerevoked my dr.license for drving w/ a suspnded license in a Class C city after I was told if I had passd all the tests and gtten my dr. license that the charges would be dropped. At that same time my spouse was being chrgd with felonies(that got dropped) and the cop that arrested us had gotten fired for making false reports. What do I do?
First, consult with an experienced criminal attorney in that area as they will have all the information on the police...
Do I have to be informed that I will be randomly alcohol tested when taking a plea deal?
I agreed to a plea deal that stated I would not consume or possess alcohol, I was wondering if they would be required to inform me as part of the plea deal that I would be subject to random testing?
Generally speaking, yes, they would.