62°F | 55°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Keithsburg, IL or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Can a judge up your charges from a zero tolerance to a dui?
I got charged with a zero tolerance from the police officer saying he was cutting me a break. Im scared the judge might up it to a dui because i blew a 0.14 and im 19
Only the prosecutor can charge you. The judge does not have that authority,
Is it possible to plead for a wreckless driving charge rather than a dui? Is jury trial required to do so?
I am facing a 3rd dui charge-I was arrested way back on July 9th of 2010-I completed the dui risk education classes on Dec.20th-2010 - and drove-successfully w/ an intoxilock device in my vehicle for a full year. I have not gone to court yet -is there ANY WAY I can try to get out of the 3rd dui charge? I know I could be facing jail time-and would gladly submit to that-if I could get a lesser charge. Would that help my case? And....if I get sentenced w/ the dui-and it goes to the state-and my license is revoked-is there a period of time-required by the state-that I HAVE to go w/out driving at all? I plan on paying an attorney to go to springfield to make an attempt to get my driving privledges restored or at least a driving permit of sorts.
There's no "w' in reckless.
How to find DUI records
My 6 year old son lives mostly with my ex-wife. She has been on several evening dates recently, and I have heard through the grapevine that she is driving under the influence. Obviously, I fear for my son. How can I find out if she has any DUI's?
Criminal History Records information is only available from the Illinois State Police. Information is located at their...
First DWI offense, in need of help!
I have only been in trouble with the law one time which was for a misdemeanor theft conviction about 10 years ago. I am now facing my first DUI/DWI charge and my head is spinning...Do attorneys accept payments? Free consultations? I obviously would like the best representation for my case and not randomly pick a name out of a book.
You are in the right place. Use the Find a Lawyer feature here on Avvo to profile an attorney to hire for DUI defense.
Are there any attorneys in Cook County (Illinois) willing to accept payments for a first time DUI/DWI charge?
I am scheduled to appear for court in Rolling Meadows courthouse next week for a DUI/DWI charge I am facing. Due to my finances, I was considering going with a public defender however, I would obviously prefer to have an attorney representing my case. I did submit to the breathalyser which came back under the legal limit I am sure and I refused the blood/urine sample. I am fine with having my license suspended for a year (the arresting officer told me this would be the case if I did not submit a sample) - I just do not want this on my record and want to be able to keep my freedom. I know there is a price to pay, choices have consequences, etc. If anyone would be willing to speak with me and can accept payments, I would love to hear from you! Thank you in advance.
Yes, there are many attorneys who will accept a payment plan for your case. But you're unlikely to find one on a free...
I need help concerning my first DUI case.
On Monday, I had two drinks coming from a friend's house. I drove home and parked. I turned my car off as well. I fell asleep in my car in the driver's seat. I woke up to flashing lights. The officer told me to turn my car on, in which I did. I told him I had two drinks and that I was parked at my home. He took field sobriety test and took me to the station. I took a breathalyzer test and blew .99. They kept me for six hours and read me my Miranda rights at the station. I do not have a criminal record, I do not have any traffic violations. My driver's license is in good standing and I have insurance on my car. The report states that I was slumped over the wheel and I was not and it also states my car is silver and it is clearly black. Do I have a case? Will these charges be dismissed?
Why is it always two drinks? Anyway, you need to hire an attorney. That's the only thing you can do right now to help...
License reinstatement for out of state dui
5 years ago I got a dui in Missouri. 1st offense. Now I have been cleared to get license back in Illinois, but Missouri is saying I need a breathalyzer installed for 6 months to get Missouri driving privileges back. Can I still get my license back in IL and just not drive in Missouri?
Call the Illinois Secretary of State at 217-524-0664 BAAID Unit and clarify your eligibility to apply for a driver's...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 37,980 • Total comments across all topics: 262,570,638
Copyright © 2015 Topix LLC