67°F | 44°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Julian, NC or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
I got my first underage drinking citation (19yr/old) what are my options?
I was really drunk outside a night club and a cop pulled me aside and gave me a drinking citation. This is my first run-in with the law and never had to deal with anything like it. Do i need to get a lawyer or can I represent myself in court. I dont think I can plead not guilty because i was very intoxicated and that will be in the police report, if there is one. So if i have to plead guilty which is most likely to happen, will the citation be on my public record? Or is it possible to get it removed from my record when i turn 21? Also, since i was very intoxicated, is it even necessary to get a lawyer, as in why would i need one if i have to plead guilty?
First, it is never advisable to represent yourself as the system is not friendly or helpful to defendants without...
Second vehicle injury case in one yr. Should I obtain the same lawyer for the second case? Will it look bad on my behalf?
I was in a car accident months ago that wasnt my fault. I had injuries and obtained lawyer and have therapy. This week was my last week for therapy. This case is still open. Now another accident happened the other day and was not my fault. Im now hurting again in the areas of my last accident but now with headaches. I did not file the accident claims under my insurance. My vehicle only has minor damage but the person who is at fault has more and was driving with suspended license.
Much better to retain the same lawyer so long as you think he did a good job.
Moving from NC to Texas on a limited driving privilege, due to a DUI. What's the way to go about getting my license in Texas?
I was convicted of my first DWI in North Carolina. I blew .10. I was given a suspended sentence. North Carolina law requires a one year suspension for first DWI and the judge gave me a limited driving privilege which is in effect until August 2016. I am moving to Texas in October. How can I drive legally in Texas? Alternatively, I may not completely move but will definitely spend some time in Texas, will my North Carolina limited driving privilege be valid?
If you had an attorney for your DUI conviction, first see if they will help you in this area. Every state is different...
I got charged with a dui in 2010, went to court and was found not guilty. The local court wants me to pay to reinstate my linces
DMV also want fee, but that one is minimal. What they want me to pay is the 30 day revocation fee as they name it for getting charged. Being that i did not pay that charge to have have my license back before I went to court to fight the case and was found not guilty, it seems they should not be able to charge me that fee. I see that it may be possible to file an administrative appeal and I also see that I have 10 days to file for an appeal after paying the revocation fee. It seems pointless though as they will already have my money or that I am forced to pay first to get a hearing even though I was not guilty of committing a crime.
Yes the initial civil revocation reinstatement fee must be paid unless a defendant requests a timely hearing and...
What kind of sentencing can I expect to receive on a third DWI. It has been since 1997 since I had one.
I had two DWI convictions in 1997. I was also charged with open container after consuming, civil revocation of license, Dwlr impaired and driving left of center. I blew a .12. Thanks
You should contact an experienced attorney to help you. There is too much detail in a DWI consultation to state on this...
What are the consequences of my case of dwi?
first .i have to tell you that i m 31 and i rarely drink couple beers .like once in month and sometimes i stay months and months without having a single beer. and i never took or seen any kind of drug in my life. on the 28 th june 2015 i was driving alone heading to my aprtment from a friends house it was a party .i had couple drinks .i got stopped by police officer he asked me to do the breath test and i did it .i did it five times but one was reading .08...the officer was telling me that i wasnt doing it right and he charged me dwi with refusal of the test...now i dont have driver license to go to my work . is there any chances to get a my driving privileges to go to work ..i just dont want loose my job cause i really dont have tranportation.
First you need an attorney. Use Avvo to find the best criminal defense attorney in your area. Now, to address your...
Can I get a restricted license after my 3rd dwi so I could drive only for work
Will I be eligible for restricted license after my 3rd dwi? How long do I have to wait to get a restricted license in NC? If I move out to california will I get a restricted license after 6 months?
I am not licensed in North Carolina, so out of respect to any experienced DUI attorney from NC who answers your...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 36,898 • Total comments across all topics: 264,429,274
Copyright © 2015 Topix LLC