Hurricane Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Hurricane, UT or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Hurricane Law

!st DUI, 2nd speeding I completed all court mandated requirements My industry has zero tolerance for DUIs
Your best solution would be to hire a Utah attorney to pursue and expungement of your Utah criminal history. However,...
My husband was charged with a DWI in September of 2011. He refused the breathalyzer request, and had his license taken away immediately and suspended for 18 months under the implied consent law . He was found guilty at the Driver's License Division hearing. He spent 5 months not driving because of the suspension. We then went to court requesting a trial and a stay of the license suspension until the trial, which was granted. As a result, he's had driving privileges restored for the last 9 months. We went to trial yesterday and lost, and the 18 month suspension was upheld by the judge. My question is this. Does the 18 month suspension start over from now? Or does he get any sort of concession for the 5 months of suspension already served, or for the total months since the original arrest?
You need to speak to an attorney. And you need to speak to drivers license division. Your question is strange because...
I'm an Illinois resident that had 2 prior alcohol DUI charges in Illinois 7 & 8 years ago.
Probably not. Utah would have to report it as having occurred in a motor vehicle.
I got a DUI (Class B misdemeanor) and now my pre trial is on the 29th of june...i have a vacation to australia planned ont he 7th of july. All i care about is making this trip...if i get put on probation, will i be able to go? If i let my attorney know about this, do you think he would be able to work it out where i could make this trip? I'm just wondering what to be expecting, i'm sure i'll get probation, and thats what has me worried i won't be able to make my trip. Any advice would be much appreciated.
First, I am ethically obligated to advise you that I do not practice in Utah; and I am not licensed to practice in Utah....
I was in a car accident(my fault) that involved no injuries but I had a high BAC. I figure I am likely to get jail time but how much is standard if anyone knows?
Depends on what the state is asking for. Also depends on BAC. You are probably gonna get 48 hours minimum but there are...
I was in a car accident about a month ago. I had to be taken to the hospital. When I woke up I was told I was above the legal limit. No one else was hurt but me. I got a letter in the mail stating they were charging me with a DUI and Reckless driving. How will I know if my drivers license is still good? It was never taken away from me and the cops never came to visit me in the hospital.
You will get a notice of suspension. Note however, it will be mailed to whatever address was on the license you had on...
I was also never read my Miranda rights. Is that a big deal or not? Thanks
It's probably not a big deal that you were arrested after one field test. And the police do not have to recite the...