Holmes Beach Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Holmes Beach, FL or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Holmes Beach Law

Can Police Require Breath Test of Passenger? Do we have to answer their questions?
Can Police Require Breath Test of Passenger? 77-year old mother, with cataracts, had trouble with her headlights, young Siesta Key police officer pulled her over. Asked if she had been drinking. She said “yes, one drink.” Asked me if I had been drinking. I said “yes, one beer.” Gave her breath test. Measured .049. Asked me to drive. Then police asked me to take the breath test! I asked “why, you have no probable cause for a DUI?” Police said they could force us to take cab home. I blew .000. Said he had the right to suspect us since we “admitted we had been drinking.” Is this legal? Can I refuse when I am passenger? Do you have to answer their questions?
Very suspicious facts here. You do not have to submit to a breath test unless you are the driver. Sounds like he...
What type of motion do I need to file to request a reduction of time ordered to a interlock device on my second dui conviction?
I want to file a motion with my sentencing judge requesting that he reduce the two year interlock device requirement he ordered me to, down to the statutory minimum of one year. I was sentenced on November 8, 2012 and successfully completed probation on January 23, 2014. What type of motion do I need to file for this request? Would it be a motion to modify sentence or motion for sentence reduction or something else?
Judges do not usually change their minds like this. What you need to do is go see a seasoned criminal defense attorney...
Florida statutory minimum for interlock device for second dui conviction within 5-years?
What is the Florida statutory minimum for interlock device for second dui conviction within 5-years? On my first dui conviction, I took the breathalyzer and blew .000 BUT refused to do a urinalysis test at the jail. On my second dui conviction, I blew a .000 BUT refused to do a urinalysis test at the jail (again). Therefore, I was also convicted of refusal to submit to a chemical test. Both dui convictions and refusal to submit to a chemical test were within 5-years of each other. Given the listed circumstances, what is the statutory MINIMUM interlock requirement that a judge can legally impose?
The statutory minimum for an interlock device on a 2nd within 5 DUI is one year. http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/IID.html...
Florida DUI Hardship License - Special Supervision Services Program Question
I will be applying for the Special Supervision Services program to get my hardship license. Part of the application process is to disclose any physicians that I have seen in the past five years AND to sign a release so that the Special Supervision Services program can get a copy of my medical records from these physicians. Can I refuse to give them this information because of HIPAA, or will doing so automatically disqualify me from acceptance into the program?
If you refuse to provide the information and do not waive your privacy rights you more than likely will be disqualified...
I got a dui and I'm 18 is there anyway I can get get my license back
I had a very bad night I don't do drugs or anything like that I just messed up and had a drink is there any possible way to get my license back without having it suspended I really need it to go to work and school
There's a couple of possible things in play here, and your question doesn't really give us a lot to work with: A...
If I complete DUI school with in 6 months but unable to complete alcohol treatment until after 6 month mark will it be VOP?
On probation for 1 year.
Unless your were told that yo MUST complete both with in the first six months it should not violate you.
How do I take a 21 hour level 2 dui school in Mississippi when they only have a 12 hour school?
I had a dui in Venice Florida with a Florida driving license but I got on mail in status probation and moved back with my family in Mississippi but can't figure out how to take the 21 hour class here . Please help I have to be enrolled soon.
The Florida DMV has a list of the approved out of state classes that they will accept and are approved. The best...