Hixson Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Hixson, TN or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Hixson Law

7 years from date of conviction or 7 years from date I completed probation??
On February 23rd, 2009, I received my final conviction for a gross misdemeanor theft charge. On the same date, I started my 2 year probation sentence, which I completed on February 23rd, 2011. I've been trying to a job at a company I would like to work at. On the employment application, it ask "have you ever been convicted of a crime in the past 7 years." My question is, do I count 7 years from conviction or do I count 7 years from when I completed probation?
It is always good to be honest in an employment application. Now, if it asks if you have been "convicted" in the past 7...
What if I'm 6 months behind on court fees and I haven't been able to complete my community service in time?
I plead guilty to a dui case back on December, and they gave me three days of community service, dui school, and monthly payments. Shortly after I lost my job, my house due to no income, and my phone, providing no contact, and I haven't been able to make any kinds of payments, norBcontact anyone. I have a clean record other than this. I just recently got a job, under stuff circumstances it's too late for my deadline. I can not afford to go back to jail. Do you think the judge would be reasonable and give me a few more months? I've been working for three weeks and have enough to pay forward and catch up a couple months. I just can not afford to be without income again, which is what jail would do. Help!!!!
First, file a motion to waive court costs based upon indigence (the clerk's office should have a form). Second, get...
Can I acquire an Alcohol Permit in Chattanooga, TN with a DUI?
I'm trying to get a serving job (preferably at a bar atmosphere) in Chattanooga. 2 years ago, I got charged with a misdemeanor DUI less safe in Cobb County, Georgia. In Cobb County, I'm not allowed to acquire an alcohol permit because I have the DUI on my record, but other counties in Atlanta don't require that so I haven't had trouble finding jobs down here. But since I'm moving to Chattanooga, will I run into problems with that if hired?
This is not a criminal defense question; It is an administrative / regulatory / licensing and possibly even an...
Does an online DUI school satisfy the county's requirements?
I received a DUI in Chattanooga but I live out of state. A condition of my plea bargain was to attend DUI school, so I would like to know if the county court accepts completion of an online DUI course. I've found several that offer a 12hr class, which I believe satisfies the state requirement. If so, what are the more reputable online services?
If you want to KNOW (caps intentional) "if the county court accepts completion of an online DUI course" then I suggest...
How likely is greater than minimum sentencing? McMinn Co, TN was just DUI and Catoosa Co, GA was just open container and DUI.
I have been arrested for DUI twice in the last few months. Once in Georgia and once in Tennessee. I have no money or job due to other circumstances and am planning on just pleading guilty so in can do my time and then rebuild my life. Looking at the DUI sentencing laws, it looks like I will get 45 days to 11 months in Tennessee if they get the second conviction and Georgia says 3 days minimum with a chance of 90-365 days. My Tennessee court date is before. Georgia's so Georgia should get the second.
It is likely one court or the other or both would impose a sentence above the minimum. You should plea not guilty and...
If I got pulled over and took to jail for dui and the case gets dismissed for lack of evidence can I sue to get my money back
I got pulled over for not maintaining lane and took to jail for dui the judge ruled it was an illegal pullover so the dui got dismissed can I get my legal fees and bond money back
No, you can't sue for false arrest unless you can prove malice.
What BAC defenses in Tennessee are there pertaining to the time frame of administering blood test and using alcohol swab?
1st Offense DUI in Tennessee, blood test was taken 2 hours after the initial arrest that came back as .23. Officer has been a no show twice now going on the 3rd preliminary hearing court date. What defense is possible to beat the .23 BAC? Can you plead no contest to a DUI in Tennessee?
.23 BAC? Where us your attorney? You are embarking on a dangerous journey...this sounds like you are doing this on your...