Highland Park Crime

Highland Park Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Highland Park, IL or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Highland Park Law

Should I lawyer up?!
I blew a .081 in highland park on the street (pulled over for speeding!), at the station I blew a 0.71. Should I lawyer up and what may the charge be?
Absolutely you should lawyer up! You will likely be charged with DUI.
What are the consequences for having a dui for the first time?
i was speeding 15 over and was pulled over by the police. i was arrested and taken to the police department to be processed and was released a half hour later with dui, speeding, having empty containers and expired plates.
It's a Class A misdemeanor, with penalties of up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine, as well as a 6 month license...
Does IL define a "forcible felony" different from any other sort of felony? I am wondering because of (SB 42/PA 99-0886).
Health Care License - Forcible Felony (SB 42/PA 99-0886): Provides that a felon cannot apply for reinstatement of a healthcare license until at least 3 years from their release from incarceration or 5 years after their conviction, whichever is the later date. (As passed the senate, reinstatement was set at 5 years from conviction.)
It's defined in the Criminal Code, 720 ILCS 5/2-8. Basically any felony which involves the use or threat of physical...
Can I report a driver who is on a suspended license?
I was recently struck by an uninsured motorist. I've made attempts to contact him and sent him a letter outlining the damages and repairs. I would have had no issue working out a payment plan but he never returned contact or showed up for his court date. Per the IL statue, his licenses was suspended but he still uses his vehicle for work and drives it. Am I allowed to report him to the police and dispatch an officer if I see him driving?
Yes, you can report any crime you witness to the police.
Multiple past arrest in Kentucky, on probation in Illinois and arrested for dui...what might happen
On July 16, 2016 she was arrested and charged in Lake County, IL with DUI (blew over .2), operating uninsured vehicle, speeding 15-20mph over limit, improper lane change (almost drove into ditch). Her past record in Kentucky is has follows - Jan 14 4th degree assault, June 14 DUI suspended license expired plates, no insurance, Aug 14 2 different public intoxication and a disorderly conduct 2nd degree, Dec 14 resisting & 3rd degree assault on officer, March 15 violation of release, May 15 released on probation. Nov 15 transferred probation to IL. Will Illinois look at her past in Kentucky and with her being on probation what might happen? Court Events - 8/22 arraignment, 8/24 continued bond, discovery tendered, motion discovery, set pre trial, motion defense, not guilty plea, 10/6 cont. bond, pre trail, motion defense Doc Filed - 7/18 bail bond, summary suspension consumption of alcohol, arrest card, notice of change 8/1 confirmation sum sus, 8/9 appearance, 10/11 motion to dismiss
Q: "Will Illinois look at her past in Kentucky?" A: Yes, Illinois prosecutors will look at her past criminal...
Can I get charged with a DUI after failing the field sobriety test and passing the breathalyzer test?
I got pulled over at 3 am. Told the officers I had 2 beers around 10 pm then they made me take the field sobriety test from which he said he could arrest me based on how I performed. He said I did not perform well on it. So he made me take the breathalyzer test and I blew 0.049. He said he is letting me go and gave me my license back and I drove away as he told me I can. Can I still get charged with a dui in the mail even after he let me drive away?
Your story makes more sense if this is a PBT, rather than the machine at the station. In either event, enormously unlikely.
Can I file discrimination should I fail a wriiten driver test even after I studied and dont pass for a new IL driver license?
I have failed the written test for driving. I am in my late 30s and been driving since I was 16. My previous state was not as strict as my current state IL that makes you do a written driving test for a new state driver license. I failed the test twice. I drive safetly on tge road and stop at stop signs and have avoided bad drivers. I drive on highways and from state to state on my own well. I have only a couple of driving issues with backing up in the past. I have asked the local DMV office staff for a rules of road book. They gave one to me. I am not sure if they refunded me the 30.00 fee for the license since I decided not to take the written test the 3rd time. I havent lived in IL long so was unfamiliar with a couple of signs and a few questions. I am a better driver than some I have encountered. I wrote the Secretary of State concerning my issue with the written test to ask for a better solution or format so I can pass. I feel there is some favortism in the DMV with who tgey allow to pass or not.
If you have a language issue or learning/reading disability, you can have an assistive person. Your current complaint...