Hancock Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Hancock, NY or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Hancock Law

NYS DWI Probation and Ignition Interlock Requirement
Arrest for misd ADWi/DWI per se. No priors in 5 years (hence misdemeanor). Probation orders indicate "If Court and Probation give permission to drive, the interlock must be installed on vehicles owned or operated". Further in Probation Orders are "Conditions of Ignition Interlock". Is it correct to interpret the orders that the interlock is required ONLY if they Court and Probation give the defendant permission to drive? His license is revoked and he received a notice from NYS DMV he is not eligible for a Conditional License so neither can legally give permission. Both are trying to say if defendant doesn't get IID installed on 3 vehicles in the household (none owned by him), he is in violation (already served max jail sentence of 1 year). Is he in violation? What may happen if so?
I believe that interlock is statutorily required if you are convicted of dui.
Misdemeanor DUI Sentencing Guidelines.
I was told today that a Probation Director indicated that more and more judges in New York State are imposing the maximum jail sentence followed by the maximum probation sentence for misdemeanor DUI convictions. He indicted the rules had recently changed allowing for that. Can anyone direct me to that rule? This seems to be outside of any misdemeanor sentencing guidelines I can find. If that rule changed after an individual's arrest, can a judge still impose these penalties if the conviction and sentence were after they changed? Would an appeal be appropriate?
There has been ever-increasing harsher penalties for DUIs but generally it is unlawful to impose maximum penalties only...
Can someone retract a guilty plea after being convicted of a dwi
my ex-girlfriend was found guilty of a dwi there were witnesses that testified that she was driving she went to classes and I paid all the fines and she got her license back she now has gotten a second dwi 2 years later she wants me to go to court and say that I was driving for her 1st one she said that her lawyer said it would help her what would happen to me if I did this
I suggest that your girlfriend retain a new attorney.
DWI Arraignment NY State
If on my first Court appearance for DWI in New York State-(1st time offence ever) I request Assigned counsel and get approved - You say judge generally arraigns defendant and enters a plea of not guilty automatically even with no counsel avaiable. does this mean I lose my license on first court appearance even if I'm requesting Assigned counsel? Will I need to find ride the minute I leave court?
The judge can suspend without an attorney OR he can adjourn a few days for you to get an attorney. They will generally...
I had a DUI arrest in Florida but the charge was dropped to a reckless. First offense. Can I get it sealed?
Relevant details were the initial charge that I left the scene of an accident when I was stopped by the police. There was no accident and I subsequently refused the breathalizer test.
The laws regarding sealing differ from state to state. As I am not admitted in Florida, I researched this for you....
Is there a statute of limitations in NY for unpaid fines?
My friend received a driver license suspension notice in the mail. He went to Town Court to find out why. Apparently this is from 2001. He got a DWI, was on probation, failed to pay his fine, spent weekends in jail. They revoked his license back then. He got license back in 2005. Why was this not found back then? He would not have been let off probation without paying his fine. He has nothing to prove he paid it back then. Should he speak with a lawyer?
Greetings: There is no statute of limitations. Your friend should consider speaking with a lawyer. I would start...
Conditional license from DMV?
I was recently convicted of DWAI in New York. I also attended a hearing at the DMV because I refused to take the breathalyzer when I was arrested. After the hearing, the DMV took my license away for a year based on my refusal. Can I get a conditional license? The woman judge hearing the case was really mean.
You can apply for the conditional license in light of the plea.