Halifax Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Halifax, VA or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Halifax Law

Can an off duty officer give you a speeding ticket?
I was pulled over Saturday morning at 4 a.m. for speeding and then was arrested for a DWI after blowing 0.09
If the speed was calculated by LASER, RADAR or VASCAR, then my answer would be "NO" because Va Code 46.2-882 says in...
Will my auto insurance be effected if a friend got a DUI driving my car?
This friend of my husband was using our vehicle while we were on vacation & he hot a DUI causing the truck to be impounded. We were not called by the police but told the next day by the friend. His parents got our truck back. Is this going to mess up our auto insurance?
While the answer to this question varies from state to state and from one insurance to another, its unlikely that the...
Virginia DMV authority in DUI case.
I agreed to a first offense DUI plea in Virginia. The court records do not require me to attend VASAP. What gives the DMV authority to withhold my drivers license until I complete VASAP?
Virginia law requires you to complete VASAP unless you went through the process of getting the judge to relieve you of...
What are my chances of beating a dui case with a .16 bac
I was involved in a accident where just I was involved and was unconscious at the scene when cops and paramedics came. They did a blood test at the hospital and results came back as. 16 .....I don't believe there we're any witnesses to the accident. It has been 11 months and there still isn't a police report available that my public defender is telling me. I was told my situation could work out in my favor because of the way it all accured and because there was a blood test done instead of the field tests....I'm just worried if maybe I should just go ahead and hire a lawyer or if I'll be okay with the court appointed lawyer
Court appointed lawyers have the same education and experience as retained lawyers. A .16 in virginia carries a...
DWI in a parking lot after someone backed into my car. Officer took me in for breath test and I passed but was still charged.
I called for assistance because other driver would not share insurance info. The officer talked to the lady that backed into me as I was traveling through the lot then arrested me. I was below legal limit and released but was still charged with DWI. The officer failed to get the other drivers info and did not ask who was driving my car as there were 3 people in it but just assumed that I was the driver. I was not. So a lawyer will be $1500 to go before the judge to say I was not driving , I was not drunk and the officer did not even do the job that he was called to do. And that was get the insurance info. So I also have over $1000 damage to my car. Is there a way to handle this that gets the facts straight but doesn t cost me the lawyer and damages to my car expenses?
Your best bet it to protect yourself and hire an experienced attorney. I know your in a tough spot but getting the...
Virginia DMV authority in DUI case.
I agreed to a first offense DUI plea in Virginia. The court records do not require me to attend VASAP. What gives the DMV authority to withhold my drivers license until I complete VASAP?
Attendance to VASAP is required by Virginia Code section 18.2-271.1. A link to the statute is below. Though your...
Do I need a attorney for failed to be off good behavior?
Hit-and-run and then got a DUI. I would need an attorney to request weekends due to currant status of the DUI.
If you have back up time... the judge will be looking to give you all your back up time if you have a show cause (...