Grand Portage Crime

Grand Portage Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Grand Portage, MN or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Grand Portage Law

I got my first DUI last weekend. Do I need to do a 90 day thing? Can I get the time reduced-if so how?
I'm not sure what I am to do. I got my 1st DUI--what am I looking at as far as time without my car, etc? I was reading something about getting the time reduced from 90 days by pleading guilty. I would appreciate any and all help with whatever you can give me. I also hear about a knowledge test--not sure what that is either. My license plates were taken--when do I get the whiskey plates--I was informed I get those. I have a 7 day temporary license.
If this is your first DUI, there are a lot of things you need to know. There is also a lot of things that need to be...
Does Implied Consent or DUI show on your driver's record if you are not convicted of DUI?
I was charged with DUI a year and an half ago, but was not convicted. I received a stay of adjudication and the case will be dismissed after two years. Part of the decision was that I could not contest the Implied Consent. Will anything pertaining to the arrest reflect on my driver's record? Will the anything relating to implied consent show on my driver's record?
Yes. The Implied Consent is an alcohol related violation. That revocation will be reflected on your driving record and...
My son is being sentenced next month for DUI in MN and his license was never revoked. Why is that?
My son has pending charges for DUI (blew .31) in Mille Lacs, MN and his license was never taken away, nor did he receive a notice of revocation. They charged him with three different charges, two 3rd degree DUI and one under 21 DUI. It is now December and his DUI was in July 2017. Status of license still shows as active. Does MN wait until after conviction to revoke the license or did someone make a mistake?
This seems odd that Minnesota would not revoke his license but it certainly will once he is sentenced.
How long is a license valid after a dwi ?
I had a temporary license that ended yesterday but on the website when I type I. My info it still says my license is valid . How much longer will it remain like that? The dwi happened 8 days ago
Ultimately, people are given a seven day temporary license in most circumstances. However the system sometimes is not...
Can I get a South Carolina regular drivers license if I move there ?
I got a dui in Minn. and paid my reinstatement fees I now have a limited drivers license in Minn. and plan on moving there
Due to reciprocity you would need to consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney in South Carolina to see if...
Is there any way to get out of sitting the 30 day minimum requirement for a second dui, both were within 10 years and under .16?
I'm just wondering if there's a plea I can make or any other route than sitting in jail... I was charged in beltrami county where my permanent residence is but I work south of Minneapolis.. if I sit Jail time I will more than likely lose my job.
It doesn’t necessarily have to be 30 days in jail it could include a possibility of electronic home monitoring. You...
Why didn’t I get a court date when they released me on Monday morning at 2:30am, and they say no charges?
I got lock up on a Saturday morning around 2am (charge with a 3degree dwi) and didn’t get book in until 12:30pm and so Monday morning they release me at 2:30 am with no court date and etc; and they told me to go up to they window so the P.O. can ask me some questions, but then he didn’t ask me any questions, all he say is okay ka your charges has no charge and that was it. So idk if I’m going to court or will they send me a court date?
A charge will likely be coming in the mail in the next 3 days - 3 months. Make sure you are receiving mail at the...