Genoa Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Genoa, NV or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Genoa Law

Second dui with prior felony dui in California
I was charged with a first dui, open container and a red light violation in Carson City,NV and bailed out on these three misdemeanor charges. I have one prior dui that was a Felony in California which I completed all probation, etc and was five years ago. I am worried the DA will raise my charges when I go to court to a Felony. Is this true and what kind of felony would it be? Also is it guaranteed prison time?
Under Nevada's "once a felon always a felon" statute, you could be charged with a felony DUI. Under that statute, it...
Possible sentencing for DUI with prior Felony Dui in Carson City, NV
I have a prior Felony DUI that was eventually reduced to a misdemeanor after completing probation in California and am facing a DUI, Open Container and red light violation in Carson City, NV..I bailed out on these three Misdemeanors but am worried about the DA enhancing the charges..What kind of charge am in facing and sentence? Any help would be really great.
The answer to your question depends on how many DUIs you have in your history. Since your DUI in CA was reduced to a...
Moved to Carson City from CA. Have CA DMV-mandated Mandatory Action classes. How do I get NV License?
I am asking on behalf of my GF. Due to a second DUI (over 2 years ago), CA Mandatory Action requires her to complete classes in CA. She has not completed these. Important note: This is not court ordered, this is required by CA DMV. During this time she has had a CA restricted license that only allows her to drive to work and classes. She now lives in Carson City. NV DMV says CA needs to lift the hold on her license before they will issue a NV license. What can she do so she can get a NV license? Is there some procedure for this? (side note: CA mandatory action is one of the most difficult state offices you will ever have the displeasure of working with - it can take days to reach them on the phone)
Unfortunately the only thing she can do is complete her requirements from the CA DMV.
Witnesses for my DUI didn't show up today. Should I have signed the 60 day waiver?
Please refer to my previous questions for all the specifics. There were 2 witnesses that saw me drive into the parking lot the day I got arrested for DUI. They did not show up to court today. My public defender had me sign a 60 day waiver. If I hadn't signed that, would it have been dropped? Also, is there any way to undo that, since my public defender most likely wasn't looking out for my best interest in telling me to sign that? Why would there even be witnesses at my preliminary hearing/pre-trial hearing? My public defender said I already plead "not-guilty", but I did not, and thought today would be the day I did that. I would like to contact one of you directly and have you represent me and I can give you all the specifics.
I am not licensed in Nevada, so out of respect for any experienced attorney licensed in NV who answers, I would defer...
Second dui and blood testing
I was breath tested twice with them being off more then .02 within two hours of arrest but the sheriff knew about my prior dui....Doesn't he have to by law blood test me? and if so is there a way to get the results of the breath test dropped because of this?
I would highly advise you to contact an experienced DUI attorney in your area. There are various reasons why the...
How much time is my husband looking at
On probation. Pulled over for DUI. Second violation. First violation he had a couple norcos in pocket.
He will be read the possible penalty during the initial appearance. However, the old DUI could be revoked and a stiffer...
If I was charged with a D.U.I. when I wasn't in the car and my keys were nowhere to be found....
Was at a friend's house, standing next to my vehicle, with no keys or even access to my keys. In fact, I was looking for the lost keys.... was confronted by police and questioned. They took audio/video (without my knowledge or consent). One of the questions was, "Where were you drinking?" I responded, "at home". Can that be used against me, even if I was very intoxicated and had a B.A.C. close to .20?
You have a great defense which should lead to a dismissal or a not guilt! There are several factors the Supreme Court...