55°F | 48°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Freeport, ME or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Is a case that is continued without a finding (CWOF) with an alcohol assignment in mass considered a conviction in Maine?
Recieved a CWOF with a 24d assignment three months ago and am wondering if the suspension associated with that in mass will follow me to Maine.
In Maine a "conviction" results when there is a finding of guilt and some sentence has been imposed. A CWOF sounds like...
If my license was revoked for one year in VA for a DUI and I never had it reinstated in VA but the year has come and gone, am I able to apply for a license in Maine. Do I need to reinstate it in VA if I am now a Maine resident?
Maine will not issue you a driver's license as long as you remain under suspension in VA. Until you do what it takes...
I have waited the allotted time for my license to be released. The only thing is that MA wants $730 to release it. If Maine is going to make me get an interlock device, I'd rather wait and save my money. I know I have to be the owner of the vehicle and feel getting my license released may be just blowing my money when I could pay two months rent with it if I'm going to be required to jump thru more hoops for ME.
Since you are residing in ME you should either contact a local experienced attorneys that deal with drivers license...
Pulled over Friday night for not stopping at a blinking red, officer asked if I'd been drinking I said no, he preceded to do basically every field sobriety test he could do multiple times trying to get me to fail, thought I did fine but he handcuffs me after anyways and states I'm being arrested on suspicion of OUI and brings me to station for breathalyzer, where I blow a .12 and he brought me to jail, never once reading my full rights.
What is a relatively well I'll test. It certainly is possible that the church could be reduced. Your performance on...
OUI can be very serious. There are mandatory fines, a license suspension of at least 150 days and even mandatory jail...
I left the scene of a minor accident (< $2500 worth damage). Driver of struck car reports (inaccurately) the make / model of the vehicle to Maine State Police. MSP issue a "BOLO" for the inaccurate make / model. MSP then contact a campground / resort (private land) & ask if a vehicle matching description had recently entered resort. Resort: "Yes." & Resort Security escort MSP to site where vehicle is parked. MSP approach parked vehicle (in driveway of private lot (i.e; lot owned by vehicle driver) on private land (Campground / Resort): find the driver sitting in driver's seat - no keys in ignition - charging cell phone & drinking Malibu rum. MSP never witness driving & saw drinking of rum on own property. Driver arrested: DWI (.275 BAC). Is this arrest legal??
You might have a good issue as to whether the police had probable cause for arrest. There is also an import question as...
I have no criminal record Just that reckless driving
Unlikely, but the rules are always changing. Just inquire directly and they will let you know if it disqualifies you.
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 67,352 • Total comments across all topics: 246,937,060
Copyright © 2014 Topix LLC