Fort Smith Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Fort Smith, AR or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Fort Smith Law

What would the punishment be in Arkansas (Sebastion County) for a second DWI (third in the state) and broken probation?
2 DWIs in Sebastion County and 1 DWI in Ozark, Arkansas in the past year. Was on a 5 year probation when the third DWI (Sebastion County) was given.
I would contact your attorney immediately to review your prior plea agreement and probation rules and requirements to...
My dwi charges have been changed to 2 battery in the 1st degree charges
I was in an accident were I rear ended a group of motorcycles no one was killed but 2 people suffered with some broken bones. Before I could plead on the original dwi charges they were changed to battery in the 2nd with dwi, and before I could plead on those they were changed again to battery in the first degree, witch I plead not guilty to. I can not find any other cases on the web were this has happened I think they using me to set a precedence. Will these charges hold up in court? They are offering a deal with a reduced sentence but wont come down Off the battery in the 1st. It is my first offence my bac was 1.8 an I tried to avoid the accident but they were stopped in the middle of a highway. I was just hoping for some opinions on the issue. Thank you for any help you may provide.
Because of the nature of these charges as well as what is at stake in the potential outcome, you should really look...
I got a ticket for drinking in public, the policeman didn't say I was intoxicated, and didn't give me a Breathalyzer or any test
I had been shopping all day with my husband, and we had bought a six pack of beer and put in the cooler. I was tired and was drinking one of the beers. Because one of my husbands headlights burned out a state trooper stopped us and gave me a ticket for drinking in public. I had a police sergeant in a different county tell me once it was legal in the state of Arkansas for a passenger to drink a beer in the car as long as the driver was not drinking anything, and he wasn't. What are my resources?
ACA 5-71-212 makes it a class C misdemeanor to drink in public unless you are in a bar. This includes your car or...
Public intox first time never been arrested if i plead guilty what will happen to me will i go to jail or pay a fine
not guilty what then
Usually the penalties for offenses like these are very minimal, just a fine and possibly keeping it off your record....
What is the accepted definition of "may not Frequent any establishment where alcohol is served as primary item"
Does this mean: cannot enter, cannot go to bar with friends on occasion, cannot work in a bar or restaurant, or simply cannot cross threshold?
Simply cannot cross threshold.
What is the procedure for a suspended license in Arkansas?
I received a warning letter about 6 months ago from the DMV informing me that I was approaching too many points on my driving record, and I was at risk for having my license suspended. I just received my 4th speeding ticket in 15 months. How should I handle this? Should I just plead guilty, pay the fine, and wait to receive a letter with my hearing date to determine if my license will be suspended? If it does get suspended, will I get a restricted license to drive to and from work, and to take my children to and from school, and school activities? I am a single parent, and I commute 30 minutes to and from work each day.I have so many people telling me that I can "argue about this, and fight the system" But, I'm just not that type of person. I know I'm guilty of speeding. :-(
Fight the ticket. If you win, no additional points on your record. Good luck.
I was told that it is required to have a 15-20 minute wait before breath test is given. Is this true in Arkansas?
Everything i have read states that there is a wait period prior to giving a breath test. I was told that it starts immediately prior to giving the test. The problem is that in Arkansas they say it starts at the time of arrest. Which is true in Arkansas? Time of arrest or just prior to test at the police department.
In Arkansas, regulations require the officer to observe you for 20 uninterrupted minutes prior to taking the...