Fillmore Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Fillmore, CA or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Fillmore Law

Getting insured at a car dealership with a DUI from 5 years ago?
I would like to get this job from a car dealership that requires a good driving record. I have had a DUI 5 years ago. I do not have anything else on my record. I have had it expunged. What are my chances of getting insured? By the way I was denied 2 years ago for the same job because of this.But was not expunged at the time. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you
Are you asking about insurance or your job prospects? Also it depends if you convicted of a DUI, a "wet reckless" or a...
I was on proposition 36 in Ventura county 6 years ago. I got three strikes for under the influence and failed the program.
I now live in New Mexico, have a three year old. I need my license so I was going to do my time in California. How much time am I looking at and do I need representation? Thank you
1. No idea how much time you're facing. 2. Yes, you need local representation in Ventura.
Can I get my restricted license reinstated after getting kicked out of dui class?
Ive been enrolled for almost a year and missed too many classes I was kicked out but immediately enrolled again. I also just completed the year of having a breathalyzer in my car. I am up to date on all the court fees and probation fees. I have insurance and a full time job. I need to be able to drive legally. I wasnt aware of the consequences of getting kicked out of dui class. It's not a valid excuse but I want to fix this and need help understanding my options.
No, you can't. You only get one chance with a restricted license.
Missing complaint DUI case never filed. 5 years later applied for an apartment & background check showed warrant for same DUI.
Ventura County Ca DUI 2010 pending as a missing complaint. Blood tests came back 0.00% alcohol in system. Went to court only to be told to go home missing complaint. Never heard from courts again. To my understanding the DA only has one year to file so I assumed case was dismissed. My license was never revoked I never had any letters sent to me during the 5 years. I lived at same address never arrested again. 5 years later I apply for an apartment and background check showed a warrant for same DUI. I called local Sherriffs to tell them about the mistake and ask what I should do, an hour later they were at my door with handcuffs. Appearantly the DA filed around a year later stating they tested for drugs after they tested for alcohol, test came up with a small amount of meth. DA said they mailed me a letter which I never recieved. I had a court date that I never knew about. Judge issued bench warrant thats been outstanding for 5 years. Ive been pulled over two times for minor infractions and nothing ever came up.
Your close maybe ripe for filing a motion to dismiss for violation of speedy trial rights both California constitution...
How much actual jail time will I serve on a misdemeanor DUI jail sentence of 180 days in Ventura County?
I'm looking at a 6 month sentence for a 3rd time DUI case in Ventura County. I went into to court for arraignment and was told by the public defender that I'd be taken in on the spot to serve a 6 month jail sentence and there was no other choice. Even if I was bailed out, I'd still have to face jail time at some point. Even if I hired a lawyer, I'd have to do it on bail or in custody. No matter what they are taking me in. Usually, the court will give someone time to get their life in order before a turn in date. I was told a later turn in date was not an option on a 3rd offense. I'm thinking about dropping a PD and representing myself to ask for house arrest/EM. I heard the judge allow it on a previous case today to a lawyer. I have to go back tomorrow. Any advice?
Depending on your priors and BAC. A third-offense DUI is typically a misdemeanor. While you can expect to serve a...
We are looking for the very best DUI attorney in Ventura county. Can you refer ?
Our 21 year old son was arrested for a DUI.
Either search here or call local bar for referral. Ethics rules and this site do not let us respond to solicitations. I...
How much actual jail time will I serve on a 3rd offense misdemeanor DUI jail sentence of 180 days in Ventura County?
I'm looking at a 6 month sentence for a 3rd time DUI case in Ventura County. I went into to court for arraignment and was told by the public defender that I'd be taken into custody on the spot to serve a 6 month jail sentence and there was no other choice. Even if I was bailed out after being taken in, I'd still have to face jail time at some point. Even if I decided to hire a lawyer, I'd have to do it on bail or in custody. No matter what they are taking me in. Usually, the court will give someone time to get their life in order before a turn in date. I was told a later turn in date was not an option on a 3rd offense. I'm thinking about dropping a PD and representing myself to ask for house arrest/EM or a later turn in date but I'm not sure how Ventura works. I heard the judge allow EM for another case that was 2nd offense earlier today to that person's lawyer. I have to go back tomorrow to plea. Any advice? The last time I was sentenced to 180 days in Los Angeles I only served 2.5 weeks. I'm curious about Ventura since it's not as crowded and trying to prepare myself. If I do go into custody I will lose my job and livelihood for my daughter. I'd like to push for house arrest.
First, we do not know if there is a defense to your case. You only do time if you are convicted. You may have a...