Chantilly Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Chantilly, VA or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Chantilly Law

Can a charge be nolle prossed and refiled twice?
I was charged with DWI 2nd offense within 5 years. At my first court date they nolle prossed the charges and wanted to refile them as a 3rd in 10 years. I was told to turn myself in on the Felony warrant within 48 hours. Upon turning myself in I was issued a Misdemeanor summons and released. On the summons it states that 18.2.266.1 did not hold as charge so it could not be used as a predicate offense. Is there anyway the Commonwealth Attorney can ignore the Magistrate's amended charge and refile as a felony again? Can the same same charge be nolle prossed twice? Also, I was only served a summons for the DWI and not the Refusal to take a Breathalyzer charge. Do they have to serve me the summons on the Refusal in order to charge me?
Yes it can be done twice. No they don't have to serve you with the summons. They can wait until you come to court on...
Can I dismiss/minimize Drunk on Public charges in Fairfax County, Virginia without a lawyer ?
I have hard time financially to hire a lawyer to defend me at court on Dec 21st, 2012. Here is a summary of incident: There was a disagreement over a bar drinks bill between my friends and bar manager. Although I intended to pay the bill from the beginning, my friend and bar manager agreed to call the police. While police was on the way, I gave my cards to the manager and took the entire bill upon myself. Upon arrival of the police in site, bills were already paid off. However, the police arrested my friend who still was questioning the bill. To his rescue, I stepped forward with receipt on my hands, but police arrested me anyways. At detention center, police drew his blood but not mine. How can I best help myself from here on ? Should I contact the police as Magistrate suggested ?
While I don't practice in VA, it sounds as if you have a defensible case. There have got to be some attorneys there who...
How can I dismiss, minimize penalty or record on Drunk in Public case in Fairfax County, Virginia?
We were at a bar in Fairfax County, Virginia. When the bar closed, a bill of $230 was given to me. I asked two other friends to split the bill with me, but they refused stating that some of the purchase in the bill also belonged to others on the table who had already left the bar. The bar manager said he would call police, and I requested not to. My other friend agreed to have police in site. While police were on their way, I went ahead and paid the entire bill with my cards. Upon arrival, police handcuffed other friend right away, and turned to me. I said I had already paid the bill, he handcuffed me anyways. We were taken to a detention center to sober up. They took my friends blood sample, but not mine. I just want the simplest and best solution of this case on court for me.
I know a very simple and effective solution: retain a very competent attorney who practices in the area of traffic law...
The final disposition a Drunk in Public case was "Dismissed." Does that mean the person was or was not convicted?
The person pled GUILTY to Drunk in Public in the Commonwealth of Virginia Charge : DRUNK IN PUBLIC Code Section : 17-7 Case Type : Misdemeanor Class : 4
Without looking at the court records myself, it sounds as though the judge allowed for the matter to be taken "under...
Legal Liability DUI - post separation
My wife's a drunk. She hasnt had a DUI yet, but drinks and drives all the time. I used to take her keys away and lock them in the safe on a regular basis while we were together. During the 6 years we were together I think she was hospitalized for falling down the stairs twice and for alcohol detox with DTs 3 times (Or something like that, I lost count). Now that we're getting separated and I've found a place to stay, I kept her keys because I feel that I would still be liable if I let her drive. Is that correct? Can I address this in a separation agreement or do we need to re-title the cars and re-do the loan first? What if she gets a rental car on her own credit card?
Are you talking about civil or criminal liability? If you are this concerned then I suggest that you get into a...
I have an active NC drivers license, VA judge suspended my license in January for 18 months can I drive in VA?
Public defender told me that the suspension may or may not carry over to NC, another factor is that my initial charge in VA occurred around a year before and I was issued my NC license before my VA driving privilege was suspended. I applied to change my address in NC and they sent a letter stating they couldn't issue me a new license, but said nothing about suspending my current one and my online DMV account confirms that my license is active
If a Virginia judge suspended your license/privilege to drive in Virginia, then you can't drive in Virginia until (1)...
Why do I still have to go to a court?
I was arrested last night, a police officer said my blood alcohol level was higher than a legal limit. He took me a station and I had to take a test. They said this machine was a more accurate one, and it showed 0.04. It took about 90 min after I was arrested. I saw the article explaining that the blood alcohol level drops 0.015 per hour. If so, my blood alcohol level was at most 0.065? But the police officer said I still have to go to a court and they put me in a cell until this morning.. What should I do?
You are apparently being charged with a crime or bring cited. Get a DUI attorney in your corner immediately.