Canadys Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Canadys, SC or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Canadys Law

What to do if I was hit by a drunk driver and they have no insurance?
I was hit by a drunk driver head on a couple of nights ago. My truck is not totaled but it has at least $8,000 worth in damage. Come to find out she has no insurance. I nor did she receive any injuries, I believe I have some whiplash but I am going to the doctor today for it because the symptoms just started coming up (3 days later). What can I do, I am at a loss. I have uninsured motorist coverage, but I know the insurance company's best interest is not me. What can I do? If I do get a lawyer, what can they do? I am at a loss!
By law South Carolina requires all insurance companies to provide uninsured motorist coverage on every vehicle for this...
If I have a DUI charge in Augusta, GA, am I able to hire a lawyer in South Carolina to represent me?
I was arrested in Augusta, GA for DUI. I'm currently residing in Columbia, SC. Can I hire an attorney from Columbia to represent me?
Sure, as long as the attorney is licensed in both states.
Can a written dui 1st offense be changed
I was charged with dui 1st over the weekend, but I have already been found guily if a dui in 2010. will they change my charge to dui 2nd?
In all probability, yes. This will result in higher insurance rates; a longer suspension of your driver's license; a...
What penalties am I looking at for dui "1st"
I was pulled over this weekend for "swerving" I took the pen test, then when asked to take the steps and count I refused, I was read my rights and arrested! this was 4am sat morning, I see the judge at 2 pm sat she informs me that even tho the officer wrote it as dui 1st I was plead guilty to a dui in 2010, so I will not be released until Monday morning when I can get a scram monitor applied! I go see my lawyer today and my court date is Sept 21st I was just wondering if I'm facing any jail time other than this house arrest? thanks in advance
See S.C. Code Ann. 56-5-2930. You are looking at a fine, a record, a 6 month suspension of your licens, mandatory...
How can i be charged for dui on a moped when i was not on the moped state is south carolina
I took my moped to a private lake up on a hill other people were there 4th of july anyhow everyone left i thoight so i pushed moped down hill to the bottom and tripped and fell broke my ankel in 2 places there was a couple at bottom of hill i did not see they came and helped i sat on the grass for over an hour mind u i dont drink calling people to come help coild not get ahold of anyone so i called 911 the people that were there gave me 3 beers new i was in pain so i drank 2 while i waited the sherriff showed up befor ambulance never seen me drive i could not stand never felt engi e it was cold so i went to hospital 2 hours later a state trooper shows up wanti g a blood sample i said no charged me with dui the sherriff should have do e that but cant prove i was driving did not pull me over so got a summons for court never went to jail cant afford a attorney im going to be out of worl for atleast 10 weeks what should i do by the way im 41 and have never even had a speeding ticket
You can be charged with just about anything. It is up to the prosecution to prove all the relevant facts. You aren't...
I have a GA license but got a DUI in SC- my suspension lifted- is my GA license vaild again?
I have a GA license but got a DUI in SC. I have gone to court, and Met all of my SC state requirements and my suspension has been lifted. I also now reside in SC- but still have my Georgia license. As of now is my Georgia license valid to drive with? Or do I have to go back to the SC or GA DMV and re apply for my license?
If you now live in S.C., unless you have not stated the facts correctly, you need to get a S.C. license and turn the GA...
What repercussions will I face in South Carolina after a DWI conviction in North Carolina?
Arrested for DWI in NC, refused the breath test and blood test came back as .16. Living in SC currently as well as at the time of the arrest. No grossly aggravating factors, 1 aggravating (.16), speeding was the reason for traffic stop but no reckless driving, clean driving record and have enrolled in SC ADSAP. Under the assumption this will be reported back to SC after conviction, what punishment will SC impose?
Generally there is a license suspension from state to state but I don't believe NC reports so you'll likely avoid that...