Burke Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Burke, VA or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Burke Law

Virginia DUI When considering prior offenses, do they use the offense date or the conviction date in the prior 10 year period?
Virginia DUI When considering prior offenses, do they use the offense date or the conviction date in the prior 10 year period?
In Virginia, the court looks at the date the offenses were committed, independent of the date of conviction.
Whats the cost of open container ticket and how does it affect license points?
I was charged a ticket for having an open container. However I was not drinking and driving. The violation was listed as 5-1-25. The officer did not tell me the price of the fine. What can I expect to have to pay and will it have an affect on my license if I was not DWI?
Your ticket will have information directing you to a court where your case will be handled.There could also be a...
Legal Liability DUI - post separation
My wife's a drunk. She hasnt had a DUI yet, but drinks and drives all the time. I used to take her keys away and lock them in the safe on a regular basis while we were together. During the 6 years we were together I think she was hospitalized for falling down the stairs twice and for alcohol detox with DTs 3 times (Or something like that, I lost count). Now that we're getting separated and I've found a place to stay, I kept her keys because I feel that I would still be liable if I let her drive. Is that correct? Can I address this in a separation agreement or do we need to re-title the cars and re-do the loan first? What if she gets a rental car on her own credit card?
Are you talking about civil or criminal liability? If you are this concerned then I suggest that you get into a...
I have an active NC drivers license, VA judge suspended my license in January for 18 months can I drive in VA?
Public defender told me that the suspension may or may not carry over to NC, another factor is that my initial charge in VA occurred around a year before and I was issued my NC license before my VA driving privilege was suspended. I applied to change my address in NC and they sent a letter stating they couldn't issue me a new license, but said nothing about suspending my current one and my online DMV account confirms that my license is active
If a Virginia judge suspended your license/privilege to drive in Virginia, then you can't drive in Virginia until (1)...
Why do I still have to go to a court?
I was arrested last night, a police officer said my blood alcohol level was higher than a legal limit. He took me a station and I had to take a test. They said this machine was a more accurate one, and it showed 0.04. It took about 90 min after I was arrested. I saw the article explaining that the blood alcohol level drops 0.015 per hour. If so, my blood alcohol level was at most 0.065? But the police officer said I still have to go to a court and they put me in a cell until this morning.. What should I do?
You are apparently being charged with a crime or bring cited. Get a DUI attorney in your corner immediately.
What should I do with VASAP program? If I don't have enough time to complete this program?
Hello. I have a question about VASAP program I was charged by DWI in VA, but got reckless driving with restricted license and also VASAP program. The Thing is I have to leave the US because of my VISA status. VASAP program does not allow to take accelerate or fast track course and they said should be more than 10 weeks. I don't have enough time to spend 10 weeks. Does VA allow to have online class because of this kind of situation? or Do I have to take physical 10 weeks program? If there is any possibility to take this class not physically, What is the option that I can have it? and where should I ask for it? Thank you.
Unfortunately for you there is no online VASAP program. You must physically appear for classes. Since you are...
Any way to avoid having an ignition interlock device installed in my car after husband convicted of second dui?
My husband has been convicted of a second dui and had his license suspended for 3 years. I have been told that all cars associated with our address will have to be fitted with an ignition interlock device. Does that include cars that are not owned by my husband? At the moment my car is jointly owned but I plan to have that changed so I am sole owner. I do not drink and am totally mortified at the thought of having to blow into the device every time I get in the car. I sometimes pick up or drop off our preschooler and friends at school or at home after play dates and am concerned about how this is going to look to other parents and the ramifications this might have for our child. Who wants to entrust their child to someone with this device in their car? I do not want me or my child to have to be penalized for my husbands stupidity. Short of moving to a different address is there any way I can avoid having this device placed in my car?
If you state requires an interlock on each vehicle owned, co-owned or operated, you may be able to put the your vehicle...