Braithwaite Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Braithwaite, LA or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Braithwaite Law

Can I still be charged with a DUI?
What shoud i do if I was involved in an auto accident in which I slid of the road when missing a turn in Louisiana visiting family...noone else was involved....I had a few beers before the accident so the responding officer asked me to perform tests which I declined...I had been shaken up because my car rolled completely over....I was taken to the er but was never booked and was given a ticket that only shows failure to control my vehicle. ..after medical treatment I was released from the hospital and allowed to go home and was told I'd be notified of a court date...he also confiscated my license / ID....what should I expect and can I still be charged with DUI with no booking...I have no tickets whatsoever on my license. .
Probably not, but you need to hire a private criminal defense attorney.
If I am filming in Louisiana and there are cars around, do I have to blur out all of the license plates if I use that footage?
I am filming in a parking area while speaking to some people. Do I have to blur the license plates that might be visible before I air it?
If you are a filmmaker, you should retain an attorney to answer business questions like this about the law. This is not...
What will happen to my fiancee who has 3rd DWI offense ?
My fiancee went to jail December 23 2016 3rd DWI offense no driver's license open container established speed zone
Louisiana DWI penalties range in severity depending on several factors, including if there were prior offenses in the...
What will happen to my fiancee who has 3rd DWI offense no driver's license open container established speed zone ?
My fiancee went to jail December 23 2016 he's on probation for 1 year . This is his 3rd DWI offense no driver's license open container established speed zone.
Timing is an issue that must be considered in this case. If he is convicted of a 3rd DWI within 10 years (that is 10...
Can a charge be added to charges already charged?
My husband was charged two counts of scheduled II drugs, which wasn't in a prescription bottle. The cop said in his report that it was amphetamine and oxycodone. So we said not guilty and showed them that they were my prescriptions (his wife) And that they were two different amphetamines of mine not oxycodone. We showed them proof that I took the prescription from the pharmacy which shows the dates and kind of pills. So they took it to the lab, well it came back two different amphetamine which was what I had on my paper from the pharmacy. Well on his trial date, they wanted to do three years supervised probation but then the lawyer forgot we gave him the list from pharmacy of what I took so he went up to talk to the state (prosecutor) and now they want to test the straw for paraphernalia. That wasn't one of his charge when he went to trail but it was on his police report. Can they add that? And why didn't they test it when they found the two prescription pills? Should I get another lawyer.
Yes, charges can be added. How is it that I would know why they didn't do a test? Getting another lawyer is your choice.
Can you be arrested at your home and given a DWI?
I was involved in a minor fender bender with no injuries the car I bumped had minor scratch and she waved that it was ok. I came home and had 3 drinks. After 30 -45 minutes a knock at my door proved to be police who said I was arrested for hit and run. Went to police station and officer ask if I had been drinking. I said yeah, what s wrong w that? The hit and run was cleared up but he gave me citation for DWI. He has on police report I was arrested however I was not fingerprinted, no mug shot. A friend picked me up after an hour. That s how long I spent at police station. I consented to breath test which reflected I had been drinking. Can they do that?
This is not unheard of, unfortunately. The most reliable way to fight it is to hire an attorney, who should file a...
How will I be charged for a misdemeanor possession charge if I received a DUI in the past?
Two years ago I received a DUI but was eligible for the pretrial diversion program and completed it. This year I was arrested for possession of marijuana and would just like to know will I be charged for a second drug charge, or as a first-time charge.
A DWI cannot be used to enhance a possession of marijuana charge. Assuming you are charged with possession of marijuana...