Appalachia Crime

Appalachia Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Appalachia, VA or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Appalachia Law

Can I serve my mandatory minimum of 90 days on weekends, for a 3rd offense DWI felony charge in Virginia?
3rd offense DWI felony charge in Virginia. I received the mandatory minimum of 90days.
it is legally permissible, however, whether it is granted or not depends on the jurisdiction and the judges practices...
I have a warrant out for my arrest for failure to appear, what should I do?
The lady from asap told me I did not have to attend the court date. I'm a bit confused about what to do.
The lady from ASAP isn't the judge who decides whether you have to be there or not, so listening to her isn't the smart...
Can I suggest rehab to court for estranged husbands 1st DUI in Va.?
He refused the breath test , spent one night in jail and vehicle was towed. He was restrained by 6 officers when he had gotten offended at their perceived disrespect towards him.He has a lawyer. He is normally a nice person but when he relapses it's a shame..We have been trying to get him to accept help for over a year since his relapse,Kids fear for him.He goes to court the 19th of this month.He has good insurance that can pay for rehab.He really needs help.His disease is costing our family much loss and heartache.
If he is found guilty of the DUI, then VASAP will be ordered. That is the basic program required by the state for such...
What can I do to contest a DUI charge in Virginia?
I submitted to FSTs and roadside breath. Refused breath/blood at station. Transported to the hospital after having an anxiety attack. I am also in the military and facing several issues as well.
You can retain an attorney. It's futile trying to do anything on your own. If you knew the law you wouldn't have...
Legal Liability DUI - post separation
My wife's a drunk. She hasnt had a DUI yet, but drinks and drives all the time. I used to take her keys away and lock them in the safe on a regular basis while we were together. During the 6 years we were together I think she was hospitalized for falling down the stairs twice and for alcohol detox with DTs 3 times (Or something like that, I lost count). Now that we're getting separated and I've found a place to stay, I kept her keys because I feel that I would still be liable if I let her drive. Is that correct? Can I address this in a separation agreement or do we need to re-title the cars and re-do the loan first? What if she gets a rental car on her own credit card?
Are you talking about civil or criminal liability? If you are this concerned then I suggest that you get into a...
If a cop doesn't give you a DUI at the scene or inform you of your BAC or results of your other tests, what should I do?
I was given a reckless driving and possession of alcohol ticket. I am 19 and my parents don't know that I was drinking while driving. I have been told my BAC will be brought up in court, but I wasn't given it. I was given other tests and wasn't told if I passed. I understand they tried to give me another chance by not charging me with a DUI, but can they still when I get to court. I have never had any prior charges with the law of any sort and have good grades and no accidents prior to this. I understand I deserve a punishment but would like to understand to what extent this could be. While the punishment does vary judge to judge, I was wondering if this will get taken off my record somehow since it is NOT a felony because they didn't charge me with a DUI.
Go ahead and tell your parents about this. They will help you hire a good lawyer. A conviction for this will stay on...
If you are hit by a drunk driver and he has no insurance and the other person does not have insurance. what can you do?
Drunk & doped up driver hit me. Totaled my car, tore my leg and foot up, shoulder and have 2 compressed vertebras in back. I will have to take therapy on foot plus still seeing doctor on shoulder and back. Don't no the outcome of this. Just bought my vehicle that Friday evening.(April 29th) The driver that hit me does not have insurance and I had not been to my ins. office because it was the weekend. I was just trying the little car out so I put my truck tags on it and run it up the road. That's when everything happened. I just got charged with improper registration. The other guy got charged with drunk driving and being under the influence of drugs. Needles in his vehicle. I have not worked since April 29th and I have a baby on the way. Foot doctor said I want be able to do the work I did for the Town(Public Works).
Hi! I am so sorry that happened to you. If you were insured at the time of the accident, you can collect under your UIM...