75°F | 60°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Acme, LA or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Is there any defense for a 1st offense 2nd degree battery charge when the victim was intoxicated?
A buddy of mine was drinking at a bar, and some other drunk guy started an argument. My buddy ended up putting him in the hospital and is charged with 2nd degree battery. He has no priors. Is all the fault on him even though the other guy was very intoxicated?
You cannot use physical force in response to verbal abuse unless you are in serious, reasonable fear of bodily harm....
Looking for pro Bono or low cost DWI lawyer
Charged with first DWI bit it's actually the 3rd. Have not read police report it's dor boyfriend i believe he was parked i left the car with hom we were having car trouble i was next door to the store doing laundry i come back him and the car were gone him in jail for DWI and my car impounded
Pro bono attorneys in criminal cases are public defenders. Because of their existence, private attorney generally don'...
I have a felony warrant out of Michigan. It is for a DUI with no property damage and no personal injury.
It is my first Dui In MI. but have had 3 in in Indiana 2 Felonies from this in Indiana over the past 15 years.
What is the question you need answered about this? A felony warrant can only be dealt with head on, as if you do...
DMV saying a IID has to be on a vehicle for a year after a DWI conviction, but conviction was over a year ago. Is this true?
Convicted of DWI in St Charles parish over a year ago. Went to get DL reinstated and was told a IId has to be installed for a year even though I don't own a vehicle.
Your questions is not clear. I'm sure at the time you received the DUI either you owned the vehicle or you drove some...
What does a continuance without date mean in Louisiana? Does the charge appear as pending on your background check?
I was arrested for a felony 5 years ago. My lawyer and the DA agreed on a continuance without date. I was told if I stay out of trouble for the next three years the charges would be dismissed and everything erased. What will my background check show during the three year probation period?
What will your background check show? It would depend on the source used for the background check. Some are more...
How long does a DWI failed sobriety test stay on your driving record if the criminal charges are dropped via Article 894?
I was arrested for DWI in September 2010 after attending an LSU football game after failing a breathalyzer. In 2013, the charges were dismissed via Article 894, but has not been expunged. I did a self query of LA DMV records and the license suspension is still on there. Will this be on my record for 10 years as if I was convicted, and if not when can I expect this to disappear? Thnaks
While you pled under 894, unless you go through the subsequent step of getting an expungement of the arrest records...
Can I be charged with a 3rd offense DUI?
The first time was dismissed and I pleaded to careless operation. The second time I pleaded first offense and it was expunged later. 7 years later I get charged with third offense.
Not if your first offense was dismissed. DA's make mistakes, hire a local DUI lawyer to fight the alleged prior.
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 37,340 • Total comments across all topics: 262,555,102
Copyright © 2015 Topix LLC